Vermicelli Salad, Asian Style!

Want a fresh and delicious asian salad? If you do, read on!

This recipe was inspired by Vietnamese and Korean food, I wanted to make all things asian for this dish. It is a dish I created with love, however the end product was not too satisfying as I probably did not shower it with more love.

Here let me explain. The dressing for this salad was a little bit underdressed. It was not salty enough, which resulted with a lack of umami taste to the salad. Aside from the dressing lacking a little flavour, it was a rather good lunch, and it is also meatless, so great lunch idea for Meatless Mondays!

FullSizeRender 20

This salad is extremely simple and so fresh with crunchy and juicy ingredients. The star of the salad is the dressing. I tried to combine all the asian flavours, however I did not get a dressing I desired. But, I am more than willing to try to adjust and improve the dressing. For now, I shall share the underdressed dressing.

Salad Dressing

Ingredient

  • 1 teaspoon of honey
  • 2-4 tablespoon of white vinegar
  • 2-3 tablespoon of sesame oil
  • 2 limes
  • 1 red chili
  • 1/2 spring onion
  • about 2 tablespoon soy sauce
  • Handful of toasted white sesame seeds

Directions

  1. Slice the spring onion and red chili into fine pieces, then add all ingredients into a bowl.

I truly believe the dressing was underdress due to the lack of fish sauce and salt. After I mixed all the other ingredients together, I added an additional pinch of salt onto my vermicelli and it tasted better.

For the ingredients in my salad…

  • 1/4 yellow/red/green bell pepper
  • 3 types of mushrooms (I used enoki, Porcini and oyster mushroom)
  • Chopped cabbage
  • Sliced carrots
  • For garnish – Spring onions and sesame seeds
  • Handful of korean vermicelli noodles

Preparations

  1. Blanch the cabbage and carrots in hot water. You would still want them to retain their crunchiness, therefore 1 minute or 2 would be fine.
  2. Remove the vegetables and DO NOT POUR THE WATER AWAY.
  3. Using the water from the vegetables, cook the vermicelli noodles.
  4. Once the noodles are cooked, shock it with cold water then toss it with sesame oil.
  5. In a pan on medium low heat, fry the bell peppers with sesame oil for about 30 seconds to a minute. Then set aside.
  6. In the same pan, cook the mushrooms. Season them with salt and pepper
  7. To assemble the salad, mix all ingredients in the mixing bowl then pour the dressing over and give it a good toss. Taste as you go.
  8. Serve with a handful of spring onion on the salad and sprinkle sesame seed over the noodles.

IMG_7749

Overall, I would not say I messed up the whole salad, however there are room for improvements. I truly hope you make them yourself and agree with me that this is the greatest summer asian salad you ever tasted. Do taste as you go and season with every bite.

Before I end today’s post, I have an exciting news to share with you. I am now writing on My Trending Stories. My Trending Stories is a new website where writers from all over the world come together to share their perspectives and ideas. I would be sharing my recipes and travel adventures at MTS, therefore head over there and show it some love. My cheeks are still hurting from smiling from the day I received the mail to join the team. It is such a great joy to be able to expand my horizons and my work on MTS platform. It would mean the world to me receiving your support from day 1. Thank you. To check out my work at My Trending Stories, Click here!

That would be all for today! Thank you for reading and till next time, See you!

Spread Love & Be Kind! 

Stay connected with me on…

Instagram @BigOnFood 

Pinterest @PeigeeTan

My Trending Stories

Or, drop me a mail at TPG22@hotmail.com

One thought on “Vermicelli Salad, Asian Style!

Leave a Reply

