Month In Nutshell: May Edition.

This is a long overdue post but regardless of the time, I still want to share what happened in May, and there were many food eaten.

So May was pretty dull as I was buried in books most of the month, however there were baking moments in school. Donuts, stuffed bread and artisan bread were taught. It was fun baking all kinds of bread. To me, being exposed to baking various kinds of bread craved my creativity to experiment on different flavours, shapes and sizes.

IMG_6546
Hot Cross Bun.
IMG_6429
Donuts! (Plain and Coated with Cinnamon Sugar)
IMG_6712
Croissants and Danishes
IMG_6575
These are the artisan bread baked in school. There were baguette, ciabatta and focaccia.

During May, I went to try mediterranean cuisine and I fell in love! The place is called Pita Pan, such a lovely name, they sell meatless mediterranean meals, so it is great for all the vegetarian out there. For the meat eaters, do give this place a shot because it is going blow your mind on how delicious a meatless meal could be.IMG_7291

As it was my first time, I had trouble placing an order. Thankfully there was a platter with various side dishes, which would give you a chance to try a little bit of everything. It is best shared as you would be stuffed, happily and healthily. It consisted of hummus, pickled vegetables, grilled vegetables and salsa. The carbohydrates are falafel balls, a bowl of fragrant seasoned rice and warm pita bread.  The side dishes complimented the pita bread well. My favourite was the hummus with salsa and grilled vegetables stuffed in the pita bread. You would have to assemble the bread yourself, so it is fun and customizable! It was filling and value for money and I highly recommend Pita Pan!

Unfortunately there is only one outlet in Singapore. It is located at The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands. Exact location would be linked here!

Another unique dish I tried was Miang Kham. It is a thai salad with a mixture of shredded dried coconuts, peanuts, lemongrass, onion and dried shrimp tossed in lime juice and fish sauce, wrapped with betel leaf. It was something foreign to me and surprisingly, I enjoyed the salad. It was filled with flavours, sweet, salty, a little bit spicy and sour, there were different textures that each individual ingredients gave. It was a great start to dinner! The restaurant I visited serves tasty Thai food as well. They have various outlets all over Singapore, check out their website here!  IMG_6640

These are the few highlights of May. I hope you enjoyed this short post and below are the other happenings throughout the month.

IMG_6605
I posted the recipe for this dish, Poached Egg on Rye Bread with Mango Salsa!
IMG_6792
I baked a Lemon Meringue Cake!

That is all for today’s post! Thank you for reading! Till next time, See you!

Spread Love and Be Kind! Xoxo Pei Gee

Stay Connected with me on…

Instagram @BigOnFood

Pinterest @PeigeeTan

Or, drop me a mail at TPG22@hotmail.com

2 thoughts on “Month In Nutshell: May Edition.

Leave a Reply

