Quinoa Squid salad!

What started off as a simple meatless meal turned into a seafood lunch… My horrible attempt for a meatless meal for 2 days in a row. No excuses but it would be a perfect opportunity to share with you what I had! Let’s get started!

I wanted to steer away from poultry the other day when I was preparing for this meal. I rummaged the freezer and luckily for me, there were not much poultry to tempt me. Instead, it was the squid that caught my eye. So I decided to make something  with squid! And just like that, I settled for quinoa squid salad.

*Disclaimer! I created this recipe myself, without any much research, therefore if you try this at home, it might taste a little off your tastebuds as food is subjective to each and everyone. Please adjust the flavours to your preferences.

IMG_5374Quinoa Squid Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 full length squid with tentacles
  • 1/4 broccoli
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  •  1/2 red chili, sliced
  • 1 sprig of spring onion, sliced diagonally
  • Spices (I used garam masala and curry powder)
  • Salt and pepper to season
  • 1 cup of water (Use a stock cube for more flavour)
  • Olive oil

Directions :

  1. Wash your squid and remove the skin.
  2. Score the squid for a better appearance and leave aside.
  3. In a pan with a large surface area, fry onion, chili and spring onion in olive oil on medium-high heat.
  4. Add spices into the pan and stir them constantly as you do not want to burn the spices.
  5. Add quinoa and stir. Pour water into the pan and season with salt and pepper. Cover the pan and turn the heat down to low.
  6. Once the quinoa have soaked up most of the liquid, fluff them up and put broccoli and squid above the quinoa, then cover.
  7. About 7-10 minutes later, you dish is served!

IMG_5376.JPG 8

Some mistakes I made were adding the broccoli too early, therefore it lost its bright green colour. Instead I got a rather dull green broccoli. However in the recipe, it is revised, thus green colour broccoli should be observed. I did not season my quinoa much as well, and that is the reason why it was pretty odd in flavour. This was the reason why I did not add a measurement of how much spices you should add, as I left that decision up to you! The rest of the dish went relatively well, I would say that this dish was delicious and I would make it once again!

That’s it for today folks! I hope you have enjoyed this piece and look out for the next Taiwan post coming out soon! Till then, See you!

Spread Love & Be kind. Xoxo Pei Gee

Stay connected with me on …

Instagram @BigOnFood

Pinterest @PeigeeTan

Or, drop me a mail at TPG22@hotmail.com

 

5 thoughts on “Quinoa Squid salad!

Leave a Reply

