The Soul of Taiwan.

I was in Taiwan for a good ten days. I travelled to the east of Taiwan, Hualien, and explored the capital of Taiwan, Taipei. Now that I think about it, I could have done a lot more exploring but it was a good scene through this ten days.

I would define the soul of Taiwan with a word, tranquil. When I travelled out of the capital, it slowly got it’s peace and calm. The train was so smooth, I had the best experience of a train ride to the east of Taiwan. The only person who bothered me was the ticket master, beside that, everyone was doing their things and I was simply in a slumber or enjoying my view.

IMG_3818
This was the train I took to the East of Taiwan. It was comfortable and relaxing. However, you have to pay a little more for this train rather than the local ones. This train is on train line called Puyuma.
IMG_4780
I was mesmerized by the rusty, old train tracks as well. It made me remember when there were train tracks just a few meters outside of my house. I would eagerly wait for a train to pass and then shout to my family, “A train have passed”. 
IMG_4363
Their bus rides were good as well. They would take your luggages and lock them in the compartment below the bus. When you alight, collect your bags and you are off to your next destination.

Through the trip, what mesmerised me about Taiwan was the presence of water and mountain. As I do not get that in Singapore, I could only imagine staring out to a valley with a gentle stream of water, flowing in between rocks and boulders, and beside the valley was a rather steep mountain with luscious greens, grown at the curbs of the wall. That was my view for most of my train rides and I have to say, I could stare at the beauty of mother nature for hours. IMG_4034

IMG_4039
We took this at the entrance of Taroko National Park. 

 

We were on Shakadang trail when I took these photos.

IMG_4112
And I am honest when I say I could stare at it for hours.
IMG_4270
Look at how the mist and cloud settled on the mountains. It just did not want to leave, and I shared the same thought. 

IMG_4348

IMG_4306
And this my friends, was the Pacific Ocean. People say the water would be clear blue, just like the sky during summer, which would make for an excellent picture. However, I was there during spring, so I was not really blessed with clear blue sky and crystal clear water. But I will take whatever I get. It is still beautiful.

Some buildings might be old and rundown but I think that is what makes Taiwan, Taiwan. It withholds its culture and history, yet at the same time, revolve with this ever changing world. There was a good mixture of young and old.

IMG_4868
This is Jiu Fen. It is an old town with steep walkways with shophouses on either side of the stairway. They sell a variety of teas, food and souvenirs.
IMG_5276
And I managed to catch a sunset.

And what I really took home with me was how in love the locals were with the beauty of their motherland. They took pride and savour every glorious detail they have in their country. That truly tells me Taiwan receives love from both human and mother nature.

It was such great fun writing this piece. I hope you have enjoyed part 1 of the Taiwan series. Thank you for reading and till next time, See You!

Spread Love & Be Kind. Xoxo Pei Gee

Stay connected with me on….

Instagram @BigOnFood

Pinterest @PeigeeTan

Or, drop me a mail @ TPG22@hotmail.com

One thought on “The Soul of Taiwan.

Leave a Reply

