Easter Special, Part 3. Passionfruit Meringue Tart!

Hey! I am back with the last recipe of the Easter Special! Today we are talking Passionfruit Meringue Tart. The idea came about when my mother bought a basket full of passionfruit home, so I thought what better way to use those fruits than making a tart!

There are 3 components for this tart, the meringue, the curd and the shell. I made the shell of the tart with digestive biscuits as I had lots of them on hand. However one major mistake with my shell was not adding enough butter to stabilize the shell. So when I plated the tart, the shell crumbled easily. FullSizeRender 8FullSizeRender 7

While the shell were setting in the fridge I made my curd!

IMG_3237
The curd consist of eggs, butter, sugar and passionfruit! Pretty simple ingredients for this curd.

It was a simple curd to make, not overly sweet, which was a bonus point. I guess the sweetness covers a little tartness from the passionfruit, therefore making the curd acceptably sweet. It was a quick and fast process as you have to keep stirring the curd as it comes along in case it burns at the bottom. Everything happened too quickly  for me to snap a shot. My apologizes all.

IMG_3238
I made a tart without seeds and the rest with seeds.

Last but not least was the meringue. The meringue was a standard procedure, you add the sugar into egg whites and wait for the mixer to produce fluffy and clear meringue! Then you either scoop the meringue onto the tart or pipe them. For me, i prefer the old-fashioned scooping. You then blow torch it into caramelised goodness! IMG_3258

IMG_3257
I tried piping 2 tarts, but I preferred scooping the meringue onto the tart.

This passionfruit tart was lovely and sweet and to be very honest with you, I ate this dessert I made more times than the rest of the other desserts I made before. The whole process took me about 4 to 5 hours as you need to let the curd to set. It was quick and speedy, great for a last minute dessert. IMG_3260

Passionfruit Meringue Tart (Makes 4)

Ingredients

Shell:

  • 7 – 9 digestive biscuits, crushed into bread crumbs-like
  • A stick and half butter (169.5g), melted

Passionfruit Curd:

  • 3 large eggs (free range or organic only) (Or use whatever chicken eggs you have on hand)
  • 60g butter
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of passion fruit pulp (strained or whole)

Meringue:

  • 4 large egg whites, room temperature
  • ¾ cup (5.25 ounces) granulated sugar
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch salt

Directions

Shell:

  1. Add melted butter into crushed biscuits and mix them evenly.
  2. Pour biscuits into tart mould and press them along the sides of the mould and the bottoms.

Passionfruit Curd:

  1. Heat the juice, butter and sugar in a heavy based pot until the sugar has dissolved and it reaches boiling point.
  2. Remove from the heat and allow it to cool slightly (about 3 minutes).
  3. Beat the eggs until fluffy in a bowl and then very quickly, whisking all the time add them to the hot juice. You do not want the eggs to curdle.
  4. *If you want seedless tart, this is the time to strain your mixture. Strain the mixture before you place it back onto the heat.*
  5. Place this all back on the heat and whisk constantly until the mixture becomes thick.
  6. Add the curd quickly onto the moulds with the shells, then let the curd set in the shell in the fridge for about 3 hours.

Meringue:

  1. Beat egg whites until frothy. Beat in sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time; until sugar is incorporated and mixture forms soft peaks. Add vanilla and salt; continue to beat meringue to stiff peaks.
  2. Pipe the meringue over the curd. Use a kitchen torch to brown the meringue.
  3. Serve immediately or chill for up 8 hours.

IMG_3262

I gathered the passionfruit curd recipe from Drizzle and Dip, Easy Passionfruit curd. For the meringues, I used Blog Lovin’ recipe.

I was rather contented with the results of this tart other than the crumbly shell. It was a good dessert, good for the young and old! I hope you have enjoyed all 3 recipes for the Easter Special. This recipe have came later than Easter, but better late than never ya? Haha!

Thank you for reading and till next time, See you!

Spread Love and Be Kind! Xoxo Pei Gee.

Stay connected with me on…

Instagram @BigOnFood 

Pinterest @PeigeeTan

Or, drop me a mail at TPG22@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

