Easter Special, Part 2! Eggs in Hell.

Hi all! I am back with another Easter Special! Please bear with me as I have another 2 more recipes to share, including this! So without further ado, here’s Eggs In Hell. IMG_3283

I got inspired by baked eggs, therefore I decided to give Eggs in Hell a shot. This recipe is relatively healthy and very simple to make, and it is best made with whatever ingredients you have, so fuss-free! However I have to admit, I used tomato sauce (those for pasta sauce) as I did not have any tomato puree or paste at home; like I said use whatever you have at home to make this recipe fuss-free.

Oh! And also, I cooked this recipe for 1, therefore my ingredients would be for 1 as well. It is also another meatless recipe, but feel free to add sausage or bacon to it, because I think they would taste really good with the eggs and tomato gravy.

Okay! Number 1 rule for preparing for Eggs In Hell, HAVE COLOURS! I had green and yellow capsicum for this, they gave the dish a little pop of colour. Another component for giving colours is the egg! Ensure to have fresh eggs so the yolk would be bright and orange. For mine, I could have overdone the eggs, but I was satisfied. IMG_3292

Eggs In Hell

Ingredients:

  • An egg
  • 1/4 yellow, red and green capsicum, sliced
  • 4 fresh white button mushrooms, sliced
  • A small eggplant, sliced into thin slices
  • 2 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • 1/2 fresh tomato, diced (Do not throw the seed and juice away)
  • About 3 tablespoon of tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup of water (Use stock if you have as that would elevate the flavours)
  • Handful of coriander and spring onion
  • 1/2 fresh red chili, sliced
  • Herbs, salt and pepper to season (I used parsley, rosemary, thyme and italian herbs)
  • Olive Oil

FullSizeRender 6

IMG_3281
Prepare all the ingredients before you start to cook as the whole procedure is really quick. 

Directions:

  1. Heat up a pan with depth with olive oil.
  2. Add garlic and chili. Start to season with herbs and salt. But do not let the herbs burn.
  3. Add eggplants and cubed tomato. Giving them a quick toss before adding the mushrooms.
  4. Once the mushroom soften a little, add the tomato sauce, adding water slowly, if it gets too runny, add more tomato sauce.
  5. Taste and season at the same time. Now, add capsicum.
  6. Let the tomato gravy simmer before cracking the egg in.
  7. Crack the egg once you are satisfied with the flavours of the tomato sauce, covering with a lid to allow the steam to cook the egg.
  8. After 1 to 2 mins, open the lid and sprinkle black pepper, coriander and spring onion to serve and if you liked, drizzle olive oil on the sauce. (I ate mine with 2 toasts, the sauce was wiped by the yummy toast!)

IMG_3293

I hope you had a good time browsing through Eggs In Hell! You could have this for breakfast, lunch and even dinner! It is healthy, not much saturated fat involved and it is great for meatless Monday!

Thank you for reading another Easter Special, my previous post on Easter Special was Healthy Bibimbap , you should check that out! Till next time, See you!

Spread Love & Be Kind! Xoxo Pei Gee.

Stay connected with me on…

Instagram @BigOnFood

Pinterest @PeigeeTan

or drop me a mail at TPG22@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

