Easter Special, Part 1! Healthy Bibimbap.

Easter is just days away and I thought I do an Easter Special posts! This would be a three part special on eggs recipe, as to me, Easter shouts EGGS! Today I would sharing a healthy and yummy recipe on bibimbap! It is a little twist from traditional korean bibimbap and it is meatless, great for meatless Monday! Let’s begin.

The most important about bibimbap is the prepping. There are loads of slicing and seasoning for bibimbap. Ensure you have colourful vegetables on hand as that is what makes bibimbap, the diversity of colours. You are advised to have white, black, green and orange.

IMG_3059
I had black fungus, bean sprouts, chinese mushrooms, carrots and morning glory.

Let me explain to you why I chose these ingredients!

Black Fungus have anti-cancer properties and contain a high amount of iron, therefore it can enrich blood and prevent iron deficiency. An ingredient good for woman for iron intake.

Bean Sprout are inexpensive. With a few dollars, you could purchase a bunch of them. Also, they are rich in vitamin B!

Morning Glory are rich in fiber that helps constipation. Do remember to consume lots of water as well, that way it would remove waste in your body easily.

Carrots are a rich source of vitamin A which are terrific for the eyes.

Chinese Mushroom/Shiitake are a rich source of iron, hence vegans are advised to consume shiitake mushroom as that way they would received their iron.

I lightly sauté the ingredients individually with a splash of sesame oil in the pan, that way I do not need to season it after the vegetables are cooked. Season with salt and pepper if you like.

IMG_3064
I cooked my vegetables till they are about 75% cooked as I love to have a crunch to them. 

There are other 2 sides I added to my bibimbap. Those are pickled cucumber and seasoned seaweed. I rubbed the sliced cucumber with lots of salt to extract water out of the cucumber. I did that before I went for my morning workout. So by the time I am done, the juices of the cucumber would be extracted out. I then squeezed them dry and gave them a thorough rinse as I do not want salty cucumber. Mix it with sesame oil and sesame seed and you would have crunchy and savory cucumber.

For the seaweed, I soaked them in water to rehydrate them as I had dried seaweed on hand. After they have doubled in size and soaked some water, give them a sprinkle of salt and season with sesame oil. Top with loads of sesame seed as well.

For the carbohydrate, I used barley and beans instead of rice as I think rice was too heavy for me. Therefore I used barley and beans. They gave the same texture as rice except healthier! As barley are rich in dietary fiber which lowers blood cholesterol. It is a complex carbohydrate which means it keeps you full for a longer period of time.

IMG_3062

Since all the preparations are done, now to assemble! You could arrange your vegetables anyway you like. And here’s how I arranged mine! IMG_3065

For the final ingredient for a bibimbap would be a sunny side-up! That’s what made it an Easter Special!

IMG_3066

Oh! And lastly do not forget gochujang. It is key to bibimbap. It is a savoury and spicy chili paste from Korea. Add a dollop if your do not fancy spicy but feel free to add a heaping tablespoon if you enjoy the spice! IMG_3101

You could change the vegetables to any other vegetables to your liking. Bibimbap is a versatile dish, you could expand your creativity to your way. I did mine as a vegetable based dish, which honestly tasted better than ever! I felt so happy after eating my bibimbap. They were bursting with textures and colours, it was like a party in my mouth, literally. So I definitely hope you try it!

Meatless Bibimbap!

Ingredients:

  • Quarter of carrot, sliced
  • A handful of bean sprout
  • A handful of green leafy vegetables
  • Shiitake mushroom, rehydrated and sliced
  • a bunch of black fungus, rehydrated and sliced
  • Half a cucumber, deseeded and sliced
  • Dried seaweed, rehydrated
  • Half a cup of barley, cooked and strained (Keep the water of the barley. After mixing with a little sugar, you got yourself a cup of herbal tea!)
  • Optional: Half a can beans
  • Sesame oil and seed
  • Salt and pepper to season
  • An egg

Directions:

  1. Massage cucumber with a good pinch of salt. Leave it in the fridge for extraction of juices.
  2. Satué each vegetables lightly with sesame oil and salt and pepper.
  3. Drain the seaweed and season with sesame oil, sesame seed and salt.
  4. When you are ready to assemble, scoop barley and beans on the serving dish.
  5. Alight vegetables around the dish and top with sunny side-up with runny yolk!
  6. Sprinkle more sesame and TADA! You got your BIBIMBAP!

I hope you have enjoyed this Easter Special, be sure to look out for the other 2 parts of Easter Special! Till then, See ya!

Spread Love & Be Kind. Xoxo Pei Gee

Stay connected with me on…

Instagram @BigOnFood

Pinterest @PeigeeTan

Or, Drop me a mail @ TPG22@hotmail.com

One thought on “Easter Special, Part 1! Healthy Bibimbap.

Leave a Reply

