Tandoori Chicken nights!

Remember in my previous post I mentioned I was craving for Indian food for 2 weekends in a row? PS, I am not pregnant, just some diverse cravings of the food in the world! Well, I got down to cook my own take on tandoori chicken. It turned out pretty fine. So here’s what happen!

Tandoori Chicken, the 2 main ingredients are yogurt and spices. These are what makes tandoori chicken! The yogurt would tenderise and moisten the chicken while it cooks. The best marination are done overnight, however I had insufficient time to do so, therefore I only marinated the chickens for less than 4 hours. It still turned out great but I believe that the chicken would be more tender if marinated overnight.

IMG_1511
These are the spices I used. I added quite a bit of paprika, turmeric and ground cumin.
IMG_1509
The herbs I added were parsley and mint. I grated a clove of garlic and a thumb sized of ginger.
IMG_1510
The marinated chicken!

I added more spices and herbs than all the recipes asked as I wanted to experiment and make the dish mine. The only thing that I could not achieve was the red colour… Till today I am still pondering about it…

The first weekend, I had my chicken shallow-fried in a pan, served with a bed of veggies. The second weekend, I had basmati rice with vegetable curry, to go along with chicken, which was baked. I personally prefer the pan-fried chicken as I could control the chicken and turn it occasionally as compared to the baked ones. I do not get to rotate the chicken in the oven as often, so it might get a little tricky to get well done chicken which is not dried.  You could see the differences, left being the one fried, right being the one baked. There were charred marks on the fried ones as I wanted it to look as authentic as possible.

For the recipe, please carry on reading!

Tandoori Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breast, cut into strips or cubes. If you are cutting your chicken in strips, do score them gently so that the marinate could easily penetrate into the chicken
  • 250ml Yogurt. Feel free to use natural or greek yogurt. I tried with both, both tasted good.
  • A whole lemon juice and half of its rind
  • A handful of parsley and mint, chopped
  • A teaspoon of curry powder, cinnamon,chili flakes and ground coriander seeds. Do add extra chili flakes for more spice.
  • A heaping tablespoon of ground turmeric, paprika and ground cumin seeds
  • A grate garlic clove and thumb-sized ginger
  • Salt and pepper for seasoning

Directions:

  1. Mix yogurt, lemon rind and juice, spices and herbs together in a big mixing bowl. Taste and season now, as you would not be able to taste it after the chicken are added because if you do that, you are at risk of salmonella.
  2. Add chicken into the bowl, give them a good rub with your hands. Get your hands into the chicken, massage them till they are beautifully coated with marinade.
  3. Cover with cling film and set aside in the fridge for at least 2 hours. Now you could prepare you salad or rice to go along with the chicken.
  4. When your chicken is ready, preheat the oven at 180 degree C or heat a pan with a tablespoon of vegetable oil.
  5. Lay the chicken out flat on a baking tray lined with aluminium foil or baking paper, then pop the bad boy into the oven. Also with the pan, lay the chicken flat and flip them occasionally.
  6. They are done when juices run clear in chicken when pressed.
  7. Now, ENJOY!

IMG_1518

I hope you have enjoy this glorious goodness and hope you try it someday at home! I have also launched a new Instagram account for Big On Food. Do check it out, give it a follow if you love. I would be doing occasional updates there. Thank you for reading, till next time, Ciao~

Spread Love and Be Happy! Xoxo Pei Gee

Connect with me on…

Instagram @BigOnFood

Twitter @Peigee22

Pinterest @PeigeeTan

3 thoughts on “Tandoori Chicken nights!

Leave a Reply

