{Travel Adventure}-Siem Reap, Cambodia.

Today, I would love to share with you something very special that happened during December 2015. As the title says, I went back to Siem Reap in 2015! I made a trip to Cambodia in 2014, love it there, therefore I made an effort to return in 2015. The trip in 2015 was way more fulfilling and enjoyable than the previous one. This recent trip was also a little different than the one in 2014, hence it might be the factor that changed my perspective of Siem Reap.

I went to a couple of village this time, both filled with joyous and adorable children.

First village I went to was Honour Village. Honour Village is run by Sue Wiggans, a lovely English lady who has the biggest heart. I would link the website on Honour Village at the end of the post so that you could see what they do there! I had limited interactions with her, but I heard great things about her. I spent the whole afternoon at Honour Village, celebrating Christmas with the kids and other volunteers. I had an amazing time, okay, amazing is an understatement for the great joy I had while I was there at HV. We danced, played tug-of-war and the best part, the kids got Christmas presents and food. The weather was scorching hot and yet, they performed under the beautiful blue sky just for the entertainment for the other kids! The afternoon spent in HV was my favourite time in Cambodia.

The kids were playing tug-of-war, a game not many Singaporean kids know as most are too involved in computer games...
The kids were playing tug-of-war, a game not many Singaporean kids know as most are too involved in computer games…
Performance by the kids from the Honour Village. #Cambodiagottalent
Performance by the kids from the Honour Village. #Cambodiagottalent
They were showing off their loaf of bread and a can of 7-Up!
They were showing off their loaf of bread and a can of 7-Up!
There got to be a Santa in a Christmas event right!
There got to be a Santa in a Christmas event right!

The second village I went to was far out into the countryside of Siem Reap. It took the tuk-tuk about an hour to reach the school, Sambour Primary school. The school are filled with adorable children, very eager to learn and help. I spent the morning there preparing vegetables for lunch. I even got some beautiful girls to show me how to cut vegetables! IMG_0642

He was having his lunch and I thought it would be cute to sneak a picture but I was too slow...
He was having his lunch and I thought it would be cute to sneak a picture but I was too slow…
Sharing and caring...
Sharing and caring…
One selfie moment...
One selfie moment…
The circle of girls who prepared the meal with us.
The circle of girls who prepared the meal with us.

To wrap up this trip to Cambodia, I went to visit Touch A Life Cambodia. Aunty Mavis who welcomed us so very warmly and just basically do what she does best, share. She shared her joy, laughter and time with every volunteer and villagers. She does such great things and have inspired many, including me.

Aunty Mavis and I.
Aunty Mavis and I.

It was another fruitful trip that made me miss Siem Reap so dearly after returning home. Our friend and the owner of the villa, Uncle Rahim, showed enormous hospitality when I was there. I am very grateful and thankful to Uncle Rahim for taking time out of work to help and showed us around.

To Ms Ana, who introduced me to Siem Reap, thank you. You took great care of me during the trip and most importantly, introduced me to a milestone of my teen life! Cheers to an eventful trip and many more!

My visit to Angkor Wat this trip was made special because of this smart girl who conversed with me in English! She was incredibly clever and have a lovely family.
My visit to Angkor Wat this trip was made special because of this smart girl who conversed with me in English! She was incredibly clever and have a lovely family.
Also the little boy in green is the cutest boy in honour Village. he was running around singing 'Jingle Bells' and dancing. Such a ball of energy!
Also the little boy in green is the cutest boy in honour Village. he was running around singing ‘Jingle Bells’ and dancing. Such a ball of energy!
I had to recreate the picture I took a year ago!
I had to recreate the picture I took a year ago!

Well, I hope you have enjoyed this post as much as the joy I had while writing it. There are words I could not express in this post because the memories I got in my heart are speechless. Nonetheless, I hope this post provides a little insight of my recent trip to Siem Reap! Thank you for reading, and see you next time!

Stay Brightly Positive & Bake on! Xoxo, Pei Gee

Come get social with me on…

Instagram @Peigeebakes

Twitter @Peigee22

Facebook @Peigee Tan

or you could drop me an email at TPG22@hotmail.com

Oh! And you can find out more about Honour Village Cambodia on this link!

Also, find out more about Touch A Life here!

And the lovely villa which was my home for 7 nights, could be find on this link!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

