Cinnamon Rolls!

As it is the starting of fall all over the world, except Singapore and Australia, I would like to share my recipe on Cinnamon rolls! These rolls are filled with cinnamon and sugar which makes it a sinful treat for the fall.  IMG_6863

I myself have always loved cinnamon rolls. I remember the times when my mum visits that bakery which sells heavenly cinnamon rolls, the only one in Singapore. She would purchase one cinnamon roll especially for me. And the moment she returns home with that familiar bag on her hand, I knew exactly what is inside the bag. I would warm the cinnamon roll up, just warm enough for the white glossy icing to melt and then devour it! So now I am big enough to make my own cinnamon rolls and have more than one to enjoy, let’s begin!

I chose to let my bread dough to proof overnight in the fridge, thus making this recipe a 2 day long procedure. However it is less-labour intensive and you would not find yourself worrying about the dough being underproof! The dough-making was simple and easy to follow. If I do not have much trouble mixing the ingredients for the dough, I highly believe you would not have any trouble as well.

I heated the vegetable oil, milk and sugar in a medium saucepan for the dough.
I heated the vegetable oil, milk and sugar in a medium saucepan for the dough.
Sprinkle yeast into cooled milk mixture.
Sprinkle yeast into cooled milk mixture.
Next up is to mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
Next up is to mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt into the milk/yeast mixture to form a dough.
Then I set the dough aside to let it proof and after an hour, it grew. *Use a bigger bowl for the proofing process.
Then I set the dough aside to let it proof and after an hour, it grew. *Use a bigger bowl for the proofing process.

Then after an hour, I kneaded and use another cup of flour and then cover it with cling film and leave it in the fridge for the night!

The very next day, all I had to do was assemble the roll! It took me less than 4 hours to assemble and bake those bad boys.

I spread a layer of melted butter before sprinkling the cinnamon sugar! Add more cinnamon for a more distinctive cinnamon flavour!
I spread a layer of melted butter before sprinkling the cinnamon sugar! Add more cinnamon for a more distinctive cinnamon flavour!
Then I rolled them and cut them...
Then I rolled them and cut them…
Cinnamon rolls are by far one of photogenic food.
Cinnamon rolls are by far one of photogenic food.
After putting them into baking dishes, allow them to proof for another 30 minutes before they enter the hot oven.
After putting them into baking dishes, allow them to proof for another 30 minutes before they enter the hot oven.

IMG_6868This recipe is indeed time-consuming but you cannot rush baked products. As I once said, all good things are worth the wait, or all good bakes are worth the wait! I had such a pleasant time baking the cinnamon rolls and cannot wait to make them again! IMG_6871

I gathered my recipe for the Pioneer Woman, Cinnamon Rolls. She made maple glaze for the rolls, however I made a simple vanilla glaze for the rolls.

Vanilla Glaze

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup icing sugar
  • 1/8 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:

  1. Whisk all ingredients together, add more milk for a thinner consistency.
  2. Pour the glaze while the rolls are warm.

Baking have brought me great joy and sorrow. I learnt so much from it and would not stop to educate myself further. Thank you for reading and I hope you have a good time baking this rolls! Till the next time, Ciao~

 

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rolls!

Leave a Reply

