The Trilogy of Crumbles; Part I, Berry Crumble!

Hi guys! Recently, I have been baking lots of crumble, hence the trilogy. This 3 part series consist of different variation of crumbles, so without further ado, let’s get started!

To kick start this trilogy, I am sharing with you my recipe to berry crumble. I crafted the recipe out from my knowledge of food and after watching many cooking programmes. This recipe is simple and easy to eat and I am sure your family and yourself would love it.   IMG_6235 (1)

To start off this crumble recipe, I have to tell you a little something first. This is no traditional crumble recipe as I used berry sauce as the base. I did not have whole berries, but instead I had berry sauce with whole chunks of berries in it. I made the berry sauce for another occasion and had leftovers, therefore my idea to bake a berry crumble. The results were good and tasted fabulous.

{Berry sauce}

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Fresh/Frozen mixed berries (I used frozen strawberry,raspberry and blueberry)
  • About 3/4 cup sugar (Please adjust sweetness to your liking)
  • 1 to 2 tablespoon of cornstarch
  • Juices of half a lemon

Directions:

  1. Pour all ingredients to a saucepan and heat it over medium-low heat, while stirring occasionally. When it reach to your desired consistency, turn the heat off and leave it aside.

I heated the fruits till juices started extracting out of the fruits while the fruits remained whole.

Now, the most important part of the crumble are the crumbs! The crumbs are filled with cinnamon flavours and buttery and oh-so-yummy! They are simple and pretty darn easy!

{Crumbs for crumble!}

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup chopped nuts, optional
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated fresh nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick cold unsalted butter, cubed

Directions:

  1. Combine oats, brown sugar, flour, optional nuts, and spices in the bowl of a food processor or you could just use your hands. Pulse 5x to combine.
  2. Add cold butter cubes and pulse until butter is incorporated, 8-10 1 second pulses.
  3.  Use your hands to clump the mixture together and crumble evenly over the surface of the fruit.
    I added cinnamon and nutmeg for a taste of warmth.
    I added cinnamon and nutmeg for a taste of warmth.

    Cube butter are very important for crumble as they produce the crisps and chunks.
    Cube butter are very important for crumble as they produce the crisps and chunks.
  4. At this point you can refrigerate this for an hour or two before baking.

I saw this recipe from Jessie Monds, Fruit Crisp. I used only the recipe for the toppings as I preferred hers over others.

Here comes the fun part! Assembling the crumble! I started with the berry sauce at bottom, over a baking dish.

I had fresh blueberries in the kitchen and hence, I decided to place them above the sauce.
I had fresh blueberries in the kitchen and hence, I decided to place them above the sauce.
Unfortunately, I did not take a picture of the crumble before I place it into the oven, but here's a picture of the crumble in the oven with another crumble, which recipe would be the second part of the crumble series.
Unfortunately, I did not take a picture of the crumble before I place it into the oven, but here’s a picture of it in the oven with another crumble, which recipe would be the second part of the crumble series.

I baked the crumble for 30-45 minutes on a 176 degree C oven (350F). The results I got where glossy radiant purple colour with brown crispy crumble on top. The crumble went amazing with vanilla ice-cream! IMG_6258

I absolutely love this recipe and anticipating till the next time I get my hands on berries and butter!

I hope you have enjoyed this recipe as much as I do and I really could not wait till the next time, I bake berry crumble again! Till the next part of this trilogy, Ciao~

3 thoughts on “The Trilogy of Crumbles; Part I, Berry Crumble!

Leave a Reply

