Let’s spice pasta up!

As you all may now know, I love spicy food! I would add anything spicy to spice my food up! I have to agree that sometimes, the spiciness on your tongue may ruin the flavour of your food, therefore add spice in moderation. Do not load the food with chilli till it numbs your tongue. That would definitely spoil your meal as you would be desperately looking for milk and to cool off the numbness.

Now, this recipe that I am about to share might be a little too spicy, therefore please adjust the spice level of the dish as I want everyone to be able to enjoy this dish. So without further ado, let’s dig in!

I was craving for a pasta dish that day, something spicy and a little fishy. I went rummage my kitchen and found penne, a can of tuna and plum tomato sauce; and I immediately knew what to do. And to take this dish to another level, I mashed some green peas and left that as garnish. IMG_6034

Firstly, the sauce! I started the sauce from scratch. I found a can of plum whole tomatoes in my kitchen, and I decided to utilize it. I chopped some aromatic vegetables, celery,onion and garlic, to enhance the sauce.

While the sauce is cooking, I started on the pasta! I used penne as that was available at home. Oh! And also save some pasta water for the sauce, you get the starch and goodness from the pasta to the sauce. After the pasta are cooked and drained, I poured them into my pan of sauce. Then I added my tuna. The reason I poured my tuna in last was because it is a ready-to-eat food and it does not require any cooking.

As for the peas, it is optional and unnecessary. But if you would like to know how I made them, continue reading!

I soaked the frozen peas in hot water for less than 2 minutes to soften them, then I transferred them into a small pan and fried it with garlic, salt and pepper. Squeeze a couple of teaspoon lemon juice into the peas to further flavour it. I then used a fork to gently mash them. I was not looking for a pureed pea because I wanted texture in the peas, so I lightly mashed it.

Thanks to my pasta craving, I created a new dish! I like the fact that I have been challenging myself to cook much more items that I have never tried before. Previously it is all fried noodles, one pot soups and all the mundane dishes. One recipe I was really glad that I came up with was tofu patty. I enjoyed the whole process of it. It is lovely to give yourself a challenge once in a while.

For cooking references…

IMG_6037{Spicy Tuna Pasta}

Ingredients-

Sauce:

  • 1 can of whole tomato
  • 1 stalk of chopped celery
  • 1/2 sliced onions
  • 2-3 cloves of sliced/minced garlic (I love garlic, so I put more than 1)
  • 1 can of tuna, drained ( I left mine in chunks, but feel free to flake it)
  • Chilli flakes (Omit them if you are making a kids-friendly sauce)
  • Herbs to season (I used oregano and parsley)
  • Salt and Pepper

Pasta:

  • about 2 handful penne pasta (Use whatever pasta you have on hand or your favourite pasta)
  • Pot of boiling water, seasoned with salt

Mashed Peas (Just for your information, 🙂 ):

  • About 1/8 cup of frozen peas
  • 1/4 lemon juice
  • 1 clove of garlic, sliced
  • Salt and pepper to season

Direction

  1. To make the sauce, heat a pan on medium high heat with 1 tablespoon of oil.
  2. Fry garlic till fragrant, then add celery and onion.
  3. When celery and onion turned soft, add herbs and salt. (Adding the herbs at this stage is to enhance the aroma and flavour of the herbs)
  4. Pour tomato into the pan, and mash the whole tomato with whatever kitchen tools you are using. Add chilli flakes and season with pepper now. Taste as you are seasoning!
  5. Add pasta water into the tomato sauce if you have started cooking pasta. Turn the heat up high and let it bubble.
  6. When pasta are ready, drain them and pour the pasta into the sauce. Toss them around and let the pasta soak in the glorious sauce.
  7. Add drained tuna and stir for a couple of time to incorporate it into the sauce and remove the pan from heat.
  8. To make mashed peas, soak the peas in a bowl of hot water for no longer than 2 minutes. What you are looking for are relatively semi hard peas and not soft and mushy.
  9. In a small pan, heat it up with oil and fry garlic. Drain the peas and fry them in the garlic, tossing quickly as you do not want to overcook them.
  10. Season with salt and pepper and lemon juice. Turn off the heat and mash them to your desired consistency!
  11. Then serve pasta with peas garnished on top!

I loved the heat from the chilli flakes and it also covered the fishiness from the tuna, which made them the perfect combination!

Well, that would be all for today! I hope you have enjoyed this recipe, though it does not have lots of pictures. Many recipes are on the way to publishing, therefore please be a little more patient. Till then, Ciao~

Leave a Reply

