Colorful vegetables makes me excited!

As I mention in my earlier posts, vegetables with a variety of colours are essential in my diet. Therefore I decided to make a dish out of it! And trust me, it was good fun and a beauty.

I got inspired with the vegetables I had at home as I was lazy to head out to the market to get the ingredients, therefore I used what’s left in the kitchen. I had a little craving for a veggie patty that day, and hence that’s what I did! I used no recipe for this and it was purely from my brain. And it turned out rather alright, it was not the best thing I made, but I would not mind eating it for a casual lunch.

Ingredients I used were corn, red onion, broccoli (without the stems), carrots and chilli. I cut them into small dice and added about 2 to 3 eggs, with bread crumbs and about 3 tablespoon of plain flour.

Look at them! Vibrant colours and I'm pretty sure you can't really get them in meat..
Look at them! Vibrant colours and I’m pretty sure you can’t really get them in meat..

IMG_2822

The veggie mixture is done and ready to be breaded and shallow fried.
The veggie mixture is done and ready to be breaded and shallow fried.

I did not deep-fry the patty as I was really worried that the patty might fall apart, therefore I opted for shallow frying!

I accompanied the dish with baked potatoes and asparagus which were burnt and unnecessary...
I accompanied the dish with baked potatoes and asparagus which were burnt and unnecessary…

IMG_2847

With a dish like that, you cannot eat it plain. Hence I made a sauce that I thought would go really well with the patties and it did! I wanted a creamy, spicy and sweet sauce to go along with that patties, thus I made a spicy and sweet sauce!

I mixed greek yoghurt, ketchup and mexican hot sauce. You could adjust the amount of spiciness you want in the sauce.
I mixed 3 tablespoon greek yoghurt, 1 & 1/2 teaspoon ketchup and 1/2 teaspoon mexican hot sauce. You could adjust the amount of spiciness you want in the sauce.

The patties were filled with textures and colours and it really made my day! The creaminess of the sauce went brilliantly with the patties and I would definitely make this patties again!

{Vegetable Patty with Sweet & Spicy sauce}

Ingredients-

Veggie patty :

  • 1/2 carrot (cut into small dice)
  • 1/4 broccoli (Cut and shredded into small florets)
  • 1 chilli (Small dice) *Omit the chillies if you cannot take the heat.
  • 1 packet of corn or 1 corn kernels, boiled
  • 1/2 red onion, (cut into small dice)
  • 3 Eggs
  • 3 tablespoon of plain flour
  • Breadcrumbs, have extra for breading before frying
  • Oil, for shallow frying
  • Salt and pepper, for seasoning
  • Italian seasoning for extra flavour (Optional)

Sweet and Spicy sauce

  • 3 tablespoon greek yogurt
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoon ketchup/tomato sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon Mexican hot sauce or any kind of hot sauce you prefer

Methods:

  1. Mix all vegetables with eggs, flour and breadcrumbs together to form a mixture.
  2. Shape veggie mixture into patty size and bread it with breadcrumbs.
  3. Heat up pan with oil.
  4. Fry patty till golden brown on both side.
  5. Use a kitchen towel to soak up excess oil.
  6. To make the sauce, mix greek yogurt, hot sauce and ketchup together.
  7. Now, plate up and dig in!

It is a fairly simple dish to make, packed with nutrients and textures.

As you can see, vegetables are able to make beautiful dishes and still fill your stomach. To me, eating vegetables are way more prettier and interesting than eating meat. But once again, I can never forgo meat for the rest of my life. It’s pretty fearful to see how much I enjoy vegetables and meat but life is all about seizing the moment right? So enjoy what you do and eat, have fun with cooking and till the next time, Ciao~

Leave a Reply

