Not a very good Lemon Meringue Cupcake…

As you can infer from the title, I did lemon meringue cupcake a while ago and it did not went with how I wanted it to be. So the story goes…

I was experimenting with the idea of making lemon meringue cupcakes as it involves skills and a combination of good flavours. So I went hunting for a recipe. I came across one and decided that would be it.

The recipe was rather vague however I could estimate the procedures and carry on with my experiment. As there were three components in this cupcake, the most logical thing to do first was the cupcakes; as they need cooling before pipping begins. My cupcake went relatively well, however there were rather large cracks above. I disregarded that and carried on with my next element.

The cakes were a little too pale and had large cracks. I managed to cover them with the meringue.
The cakes were a little too pale and had large cracks. I managed to cover them with the meringue.

The lemon curd was relatively simple, however it requires your attention and effort as it needs constant stirring and tasting. I went with my tastebuds for the acidity of the lemon and not the exact measurements from the recipe. It went well!

I placed the curd in a piping bag as I needed to squeeze them into the cupcakes.
I placed the curd in a piping bag as I needed to squeeze them into the cupcakes.
Filled.
Filled.

Last to be made were the meringues. I did not follow the steps from the recipe and I did them my way. I melted the sugar and water and made it into a sugar syrup. I then started to whisk the egg whites in the mixer. I gently poured the sugar syrup when I was soft peaks. It took a while for it to produce stiff peaks, however good things are worth the wait right? After stiff peaks formed, I transferred the meringue into another piping bag and gave a shot at piping the filled cupcakes. When I am done piping the first cupcake, I looked at it and decided to just use a spoon to craft them above the cupcakes. It was more rustic and simple, and I was glad I changed my mind. IMG_3940

What’s a lemon meringue cupcake without the burnt meringues? Unfortunately I did not have a blow-torch, so I compromised and used a hand lighter. It worked smoothly.

The end product!
The end product!

But here comes the disappointment and my failure in this product. I tried the cupcakes and realised the lemon curd was not piped enough. It needed more lemon curd in the cupcake to enhance the whole cake. The cupcakes were left slightly bland, which made the whole cupcake unsuccessful. I was pretty bummed by the fact that I did not pipe the cupcakes deep enough which affected its flavor…  IMG_3950

Despite the setback, I am eager to try this recipe once more. It was good fun baking them, especially burning the meringue.

I guess this is what makes baking exciting. You would fail and you will want to try again to make it all better; just like life. 🙂

Well, thank you for reading. I appreciate the time you have taken here, do take a little more time and read the other posts! Till the next time, Ciao~

One thought on “Not a very good Lemon Meringue Cupcake…

Leave a Reply

