The food that I grew up eating…

As National Day (9th of August) is approaching, I would like to take this chance to share some delicious and sinful delicacies that I grew up eating. IMG_4624

I have been in Singapore for all my life and if you know Singapore, food is one of the trademark in this nation. So, of course, I grew up eating really yummy food since I was in kindergarten (age 4 or 5). However, there are only certain type of food that made my childhood days memorable. 

Firstly I like to introduce my all time favourite treat! Chwee Kueh! It is a steamed rice cake with preserved radish served above it. The savouriness of the preserved radish gives a burst of flavour to the dish as the steamed rice cake is simply bland.

The preserved radish above the steam rice cake provides savouriness and textures to the simple dish. Chilli sauce is given on the side, which is a must for me.
The preserved radish above the steam rice cake provides savouriness and textures to the simple dish. Chilli sauce is given on the side, which is a must for me.

I remember eating it as breakfast before school or during the weekends when I was younger. A plate like this would cause you only $1.20.

Next dish is my all-time favourite local dish till today! Fried Hokkien Noodles, in simpler terms, fried prawn noodles!

A variety of seafood (prawns and squid) are cooked together with the noodles.
A variety of seafood (prawns and squid) are cooked together with the noodles.

The rich prawn stock that they use to soak the noodles in while frying them gives extra kick to the noodles. It is a rich dish with flavourful stock and yummy noodles!

Another favourite of mine is stir-fried chilli squid. It is a common dish to find in the hawker centre (rows of local food stores opened side by side, in a floor of wholesome goodness), goes well with rice or noodles. However, it is not for those who do not take spiciness well.

Just squid stir-fried with onions and a home-made chilli sauce.
Just squid stir-fried with onions and a home-made chilli sauce.

This is a dish I grew to love as I could not take spicy food well when I was 4 to 6, but as I was growing, my spicy tolerance level grew because Singapore food are basically spicy or have a spicy element to it.

The next dish is something I crave once in a while as a mixture of cucumber, pineapple,dough fritters and bean sprout are tossed together in a thick and sweet  sauce, coated with peanuts!

The ingredients in the sauce are fermented prawn paste, tamarind paste, lime juice and chilli powder.
The ingredients in the sauce are fermented prawn paste, tamarind paste, lime juice and chilli powder.

It is a Chinese/Malay salad, called Rojak. Remember to be careful while enjoying this as the sauce stain on your clothes might smell a little like shrimp paste…

These next dish is a must-have for me when eating at a hawker centre. It is an oyster omelette with fresh oyster and eggs. Again, chilli is a must!

The egg are fried in a corn flour and rice flour mixture. So you would expect a starchy chewiness from the flour mixture together with the eggs!
The egg are fried in a corn flour and rice flour mixture. So you would expect a starchy chewiness from the flour mixture together with the eggs!

This dish requires an acquired taste-bud, however once you start, you might never want to stop.

And last but not least, a dish fine and simple. Carrot cake! Now, do not let the name fool you, in  Singapore we have a western and chinese version of carrot cake. Western being the cake with cream cheese frosting, and for the Chinese version, you have fried rice cake with radish and eggs!

There's 2 version for this carrot cake, a dark and white. The dark carrot cake is fried in dark sauce and the white is just simply pan-fried.
There’s 2 version for this carrot cake, a dark and white. The dark carrot cake is fried in dark sauce and the white is just simply pan-fried.

All in all, there are many other local delights to choose from, but I chose these that speaks home for me. Often when I am traveling, I would make a list of local food I would get when I am back home. In my opinion, what makes a dish local is chilli. The spice factor has a true significant in our cuisine. To be Singapore, you have to have a high tolerance for spiciness!

Well, that’s it for today! I hope you have enjoyed your time here and hope to see you soon! Oh! And Happy 50th Birthday Singapore. May you prosper and flourish even greater! Till the next time, Ciao~

Leave a Reply

