What can I do with Hollandaise sauce…?

For a few weeks now, I have been practicing making hollandaise sauce by hand. And let me tell, it is not easy. I think i might have grown muscles on my right arm… Anyway, making hollandaise sauce is a skill. It requires your full attention and accurate measurement, though that can be adjust here and there one way or another.

I pretty much have mastered the art of making hollandaise sauce. Therefore right now, I need to find ways to devour it, other than making eggs benedict. I am never a fan of eggs benedict as it is very sinful and I dislike my eggs yolk runny. Therefore I need to discover new ways to enjoy my hollandaise sauce…

Till now, I got nothing on my mind. I cannot think of any food or any dishes that would go well with hollandaise sauce… I shall keep finding ways to enjoy the sauce, but meanwhile, enjoy my recipe to Hollandaise sauce!

Hollandaise Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 5 ml of water
  • 135 ml of melted butter/vegetable oil
  • Lemon juice (have a whole lemon on hand, as you might want to season as the sauce thickens)
  • Salt (season according to your liking)

Directions:

  1. Fill a pot with water, a little less than half, and then place it on cooking top to boil on medium heat. *Do not let the water boil vigorously as that might scramble the eggs.
  2. Separate egg yolks in a large mixing bowl, a bowl that would fit above a pot, without touching the surface of the water. Add 22.5 ml of water into the egg yolks.
  3. Whisk the yolks and water mixture till mixture is pale yellow.
  4. Place bowl above the pot and continue whisking.
  5. Gradually pour the fats into the yolk mixture in a steady stream. * Do not pour in a large amount from the start, as that would prolong the time the sauce takes to thicken.
  6. As the sauce starts to thicken, add lemon juice and salt bit by bit, tasting along the way, as you do not want to over season the sauce. Remove from the pot of water if you see that the sauce is thickening, however continue whisking with a more gentle pace, once it is away from the heat.
  7. The sauce is done once it coats the back of the spoon in a thick consistency (not too runny).

IMG_3250

I decided to poach an egg to try accompany the sauce.
I decided to poach an egg to try accompany the sauce.

I hope you have found this recipe enjoyable and useful. I had ups and down while making the sauce, splitting one too many times. However when you see the results coming along, that sense satisfactory is readable across my whole body language!

My absent from this blog have been undeniably long. I have been so caught up with school and have yet to find time to sit myself down to read. In the following few days, I would be posting a little more, therefore stay tune for more content! And thank you for being patient. 😀 Till next time, Ciao~

Leave a Reply

