Fat, Creamy Cream Puffs!

I set myself up for a challenge to do some cream puffs. Now why I said challenge you might think, well, it is because I do not have any experiences making profiteroles and my family loves cream puffs, therefore the pressure is luring above me. But I thought “Let’s just try it once, and if it does not work, try again next time. But if it is a success, GOOD FOR YOU!” And I began…

My recipe is from a Youtuber from Japan. The channel’s name is Cooking With A Dog. I have been watching this Youtuber for a while now and the products that they cook looks and feel amazing. They use quality produce and they cook really professionally.

So I stumbled upon their cream puff recipe and I decided to give it a shot!

Making the choux pastry was a rather tedious process, however seeing them raise in the oven gave me a true sense of satisfaction.

Firstly, Melt the butter in a pan with water.
Firstly, Melt the butter in a pan with water.
The outcome of flour with melted butter and water.
The outcome of flour with melted butter and water. 
The product of the flour mixture with the egss.
The product of the flour mixture with the eggs.
Time to pipe these little rascals out on baking tray with a parchment paper.
Time to pipe these little rascals out on baking tray with a parchment paper.
Flatten the tips by dipping your finger in water and pressing gently onto the tips of the pastry.
Flatten the tips by dipping your finger in water and pressing gently onto the tips of the pastry.
Then, whack them into the oven and let the magic happen!
Then, whack them into the oven and let the magic happen!
The cooling process...
The cooling process…

While the puffs are cooling, I made the cream! The filling for the cream puffs are the combination of pastry cream and whipped cream.

Warm milk with vanilla pod and sugar. Want extra vanilla in your cream? Add vanilla essence to boost it's flavour!
Warm milk with vanilla pod and sugar. Want extra vanilla in your cream? Add vanilla essence to boost it’s flavour!
Whisk egg yolks and sugar till pale while the milk is warming...
Whisk egg yolks and sugar till pale while the milk is warming…
Gently temper the warm milk with the egg yolks bit by bit. Once all are combined, pour the mixture back onto the heat and whisk it till it thickens.
Gently temper the warm milk with the egg yolks bit by bit. Once all are combined, pour the mixture back onto the heat and whisk it till it thickens.
Thick, pudding-like custard is formed. I placed it on an ice-bath to make the chilling process speed up, so that I could store them into the fridge as soon as possible!
Thick, pudding-like custard is formed. I placed it on an ice-bath to make the chilling process speed up, so that I could store them into the fridge as soon as possible!
Oh! And remember to cover the custard with a cling film/plastic wrap.
Oh! And remember to cover the custard with a cling film/plastic wrap.
While the custard is chilling, I whipped some cream up to incorporate it into the custard cream to give it a smoother and lighter texture.
While the custard is chilling, I whipped some cream up to incorporate it into the custard cream to give it a smoother and lighter texture.

Next, it was time to fill the bad boys up with the yummy goodness! Silly me, forgets to capture a picture of the cream filling… But here’s the end product! IMG_9971

For the steps and recipe, Please go to Cooking with A Dog, Cream Puffs recipe! I have been following their channel for a while now, and I am constantly amused with the dog, Francis, for always resisting on the visually delicious food the owner is whipping up. Like how can he resist those?!? Do check out their channel and you might find one or two favourites there!

I hope you have enjoyed this recipe as much as I did, although it was the most tedious but interesting recipe I ever baked. Stay tune for the next post as it would be my last post about my recent trip to Vietnam! Till the next time, Ciao~

One thought on “Fat, Creamy Cream Puffs!

Leave a Reply

