{Travel Adventures}: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; My foodies dream! Part I

Hi all! Today I am back with another travel adventure! However for this post, it is only concentrated on the food! But I would show you the bustling city in another post to come, for now, lets all enjoy the food. One disclaimer, I only tried handful type of food, therefore it might lack a little content, but I would try my very best to make the most of all the food I have eaten!

When we think of Vietnam, pho and banh mi (baguette sandwich) comes into mind. So indeed, I tried them both! I tend to stay away from the tourist recommended areas as the prices and taste could vary a little and I want to eat like a local.

Exploring HCMC is pretty easy and convenient, but the language barrier is the issue, therefore know where you are going and have the address and store name written down for easy reference and it be easier to ask for directions. That is basically what I did for the entire trip! I searched for various Pho stores that seems interesting and I wrote the address down on a notepad and brought it to Vietnam!

My very first meal in Ho Chi Minh was at Pho 2000. It is a place for tourist as Bill Clinton apparently had pho there. We went for lunch there as it was located near to our hotel, so we decided to give it a try. My cousin and I walked from our hotel to the store and it took about 20 minutes. It was great fun though, walking along the streets of Vietnam. We got seated immediately upon arriving the restaurant and ordered 2 bowls of beef pho and spring rolls. As the weather was warm, we also ordered 2 coconuts to quench our thirst and refresh ourselves for the meal. The cost of our meal was about US$13. IMG_1266

In Vietnam, pho dishes would be accompanied by a plate or basket of fresh herbs. It is up to you to add them into your piping hot bowl of pho!
In Vietnam, pho dishes would be accompanied by a plate or basket of fresh herbs. It is up to you to add them into your piping hot bowl of pho!
Spring rolls. They were really crispy and flavourful. Fried to perfection!
Spring rolls. They were really crispy and flavourful. Fried to perfection!

IMG_1261

 

Another Pho store we tried was eaten by the locals because when we arrived at the store, the only customers there were Vietnamese, so I assumed we found local eats! We settled down and soon realised we had a language barrier, but the kind lady figured what we were there for and she quickly whipped up 2 bowls of beef pho!

The store is located at the corner, opposite a canal.
The store is located at the corner, opposite a canal.
A bowl of beef pho with a basket of fresh herbs. And we casually ordered jasmine ice tea unknowingly. :)
A bowl of beef pho with a basket of fresh herbs. And we casually ordered jasmine ice tea unknowingly. 🙂

And that was the end to our pho eating. We only ate pho at these places. We went back to the local eatery for pho on the last day, It was good and cheap and oh!so!worth it! It costed for only about US$5 for 2 bowls of beef pho and 2 glasses of jasmine ice tea.

The warm weather and scorching sun would make you thirsty very soon. So along the way, there are small makeshift drink stores. Now, you might think is it unsafe to drink or consume, honestly, you are just thinking of quenching your thirst, no more thinking if it would give you tummy ache, unless you brought your own water. So along the way, we decided to stop for a cup of ice coffee from a street vendor. Vietnamese ice coffee consists of black coffee and condensed milk. The coffee was so thick and sweet. It was not my type of coffee but at least I tried! And a cup of ice coffee cost less than a dollar! IMG_1280

She would mix the condensed milk and coffee first before adding the ice!
She would mix the condensed milk and coffee first before adding the ice!

IMG_1279

Our next and last encounter with coffee was at a small little cafe, where the locals have their lunch or tea-break. We sat in short wooden stools and tables that were as low as our knees. It was adorable and very relaxing. I asked for traditional vietnamese coffee that I have been searching for days and lucky us, we found the right store!

Coffee powder are placed into the metal cup with a filter intact in it. They pour hot water into the cup and hot coffee would drip into the glass below.
Coffee powder are placed into the metal cup with a filter intact in it. They pour hot water into the cup and hot coffee would drip into the glass below.

The whole coffee process was really cool and I am so glad I managed to find the coffee store before leaving Vietnam. I was a happy girl!

And this conclude My Foodies dream Part 1! Stay tune for more Vietnam adventures, till the next time, Ciao~ Or should I say Tạm biệt (Goodbye in Vietnamese). 

 

One thought on “{Travel Adventures}: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; My foodies dream! Part I

Leave a Reply

