Naked Pandan Chiffon Cake…?

Hi all! Since St.Patricks Day is approaching, I thought I share with you a GREEN recipe! Okay, Disclaimer! I thought it be really fun for me to share this recipe before St. Patricks Day because the product is green and it is no tradition for people to eat pandan chiffon cake on St. Patricks days, I just merely think it is cool and interesting to share a green cake! I am not Irish nor have Irish blood in me, but I am intrigued by the festival!

Right! So let’s get down to business! Let me do a little explaining on the title first. For a pandan cake, the crust of the cake should have a noticeable brown crust, not burnt but light brown crust on the outside. I was afraid that my cake would be burnt by the time the light brown crust formed, therefore I took the cake out before a crust was formed. So you could say that my cake was a little naked… Therefore the title… IMG_9891

 

However, it was only the crust that failed me, the taste and texture was rather normal. It was an easy cake to bake, however time and effort is needed. Patience and perseverance are key for Pandan Chiffon cake! My family enjoyed this cake, especially my grandma! It is a pretty sinful and decadent but light cake, so enjoy the process and of course, the end results!

The most important ingredient in this recipe is the pandan! I struggled a little to extract the juices out of the blended pandan leaves as I squeezed it out by hand without a cheesecloth. I regretted not purchasing cheesecloth. I did add pandan extract as well.

Chopped and ready to be blended!
Chopped and ready to be blended!

IMG_9786

The juices that I squeezed out so 'effortlessly' from my hands!
The juices that I squeezed out so ‘effortlessly’ from my hands!

Next most important component of this cake is the egg whites! As this cake does not have much raising agent, egg whites are used to give the cake a very spongy and airy texture! They are whisked to stiff peaks and gently folded in. For this part, you have to be patience to achieve the glossy and stiff peaks.

I was overly excited when I achieved my glossy and smooth peaks!
I was overly excited when I achieved my glossy and smooth peaks!

I had a good time making this cake and I hope you would too! So without further ado, here’s the recipe!

Pandan Chiffon Cake

Ingredients for batter

  • 5 egg yolks
  • 20 gm caster sugar
  • 100 gm cake flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 100 ml coconut milk
  • 2 Tbsp pandan juice (see below for making pandan juice)
  • a few drops pandan essence/pandan paste, optional
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil

Ingredients for pandan juice

  • 10 pandan leaves, fresh or frozen
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp water

Ingredients for Meringue (I got my egg white recipe from another source, which is from http://www.seasaltwithfood.com/2011/03/pandan-chiffon-cake.html )

  • 100 g Sugar
  • 12 g Corn Flour/Starch
  • 7 Large Egg Whites

Method:

  • Preheat oven to 170C (338F).
  • Chop pandan leaves into chunks, pop in a food processor and add about 1 1/2 tablespoons of water. Process to small pieces.
  • Place pandan leaves in a muslin bag and squeeze out the juice. You need about 2 tablespoons of it to make this cake. If you do not have a muslin bag, just use your clean hand to squeeze out the juice.
  • Beat the egg yolks with a balloon whisk and mix in 20 grams of sugar. Add coconut milk, pandan juice, and a few drops of pandan paste (if desired). Combine well.
  • Sift in cake flour and baking powder in three batches into the egg yolk mixture. Mix well. Lastly, add olive oil. Set aside.
  • Make the meringue: Combine sugar and corn flour. Beat the egg whites until foamy. Add half the sugar and continue beating for a few minutes, then add remaining sugar and beat until egg whites are glossy and stiff peaks form.
  • Spoon out 1/3 of the beaten egg whites and fold into the egg mixture. Lightly fold in the rest of the beaten egg whites with a spatula, until just combined.

    Love how the batter is so fluffy and green in colour!
    Love how the batter is so fluffy and green in colour!
  • Pour into the cake pan and bake in preheated oven for about 35 to 40 minutes. After baking the first 15 minutes, if you find your cake gets browning, reduce heat to 150C(302F), continue to bake until cooked through. A needle comes out clean when inserted in the middle. IMG_9884
  • Remove cake from the oven. invert the pan immediately. Allow it to cool completely.
    Apparently it is necessary for the cake to be turned upside down to cool.
    Apparently it is necessary for the cake to be turned upside down to cool.

    IMG_9889

 

 

It was a not-bad attempt I have to say! I am certainly trying this recipe again, just that I would need to find time but I am up for another light Pandan chiffon cake! Till the next time, Ciao~

I got this Pandan chiffon cake from Christine’s Recipes- Pandan Chiffon Cake.  {http://en.christinesrecipes.com/2011/06/pandan-chiffon-cake.html#ixzz3UHIC40LU}

 

Leave a Reply

