Food is all about EXPERIMENTING!

I believe most great chefs took a while to perfect one simple dish. Why? Because they experiment it.

Food is all about experimenting. From adjusting the pinch of salt to how much goes into the pot. Sometimes that special dish would not be near great after one try. We have to adjust the texture, flavour and appearance. And that, we must experiment.

In 2015, I have baked quite a few items. From cakes to pastry. All I could say is that I failed miserably in some of them.

For instance, I did a Pandan chiffon cake a few weeks back. The first attempt was a goner, still edible, just horrible looking. So I experimented the timing and paid more attention to it. The second time was not so bad. Appearance improved, but there’s still room for improvement. I am driven to try once more, and experiment on it again till I get it right. That’s the satisfaction.

My cooking comes from experiment as well. I never get the appearance right… But I decided to try this and try that, to achieve my desired look! It’s all about experiments!

My point is if you do not get it right the first time, do not give up. Give it another shot, experiment with the ingredients and go with your gut. Same goes to life. When we fall, pick yourself back up, try different routes till you find the right one. 🙂 However if you could do it once, give it your best shot! You only get one life.

“Failure is a detour, not a dead-end street.”   -Zig Ziglar

I have been pondering about my failures for the past few days, therefore I have come to conclusion and decided to pen down my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

