My Christmas Gift to you: #4 Apple Pie!

Anndddd… It’s Christmas Eve!!!! One more day to Christmas! I have been waiting all year for this season! As you can see, Christmas is my favourite season. I get to eat really yummy food, receive and give presents to love ones and this year, I contributed a little in the food department. And so, it brings me to my forth recipe for my Christmas series! Apple Pie! IMG_9346

I actually do not have a valid reason for doing apple pie for this festive season. I just felt like it’s right to eat apple pie this season! I am a random thinker!

Like my previous Christmas recipes, this includes spices as well! It includes cinnamon and nutmeg. Both ingredients I believe is vital for the apple filling.

I was a little worried with this recipe because of the crust. It needs to be worked quickly as I could not get my fats melted. Unfortunately, the butter did melted a little while I was mixing it with the dry ingredients. I was pretty bummed by that, however, I continued despite the probability of having a less flaky crust. Overall, I have to say I managed to acquire a rather flaky crust and sweet and sour apple filling!

I first made the dough for the crust as they needed resting. I used my own hands for the dough as I did not have a blender. IMG_9320

After I pop the dough into the fridge, I moved onto the apple filling! I realised that I should not slice the apples too thinly because you would not have that fulfilling crunch after your pie is baked.

Before I added the sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.
Before I added the sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.
After I have added the sugar mixture.
After I have added the sugar mixture.

Then! It’s time to assemble the pie! A note to all- Do not be tempted to pour the juices from the apple fillings onto the assembled pies as during baking, the apples are going to extract juices out as well. So it is not wise to pour the juices from the apple fillings mixture. IMG_9328

IMG_9333

 

I brushed the top with egg wash to give it a golden colour after baking!

And after 50 minutes! Viola! IMG_9350

My crust recipe and apple filling recipe are not from the same source. I thought that I could be a bit more curious and search more for different recipes!

Apple Pie recipe!

Ingredients

Crust:

  • 1-1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (or replace with all-purpose flour or a combo)
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 1 stick frozen butter
  • 4-5 tablespoons ice water
  1. Pulse together the flour, sugar and salt in the basin of a food processor. Pulse just a few times to get it nice and mixed up. Don’t have a food processor? That’s cool, just whisk together the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Using a sharp knife, cut your frozen butter into small pieces. It takes a little bit of elbow grease to cut through solid-frozen butter, but keeping the butter cold is what makes the crust nice and flaky. If you prefer, you can cut unfrozen butter into chunks and then freeze those chunks.
  3. Add the cut-up frozen butter to the food processor and pulse until the mixture resembles the texture of small pebbles. Don’t worry about getting all the butter chopped up evenly. It’s more important for your butter to stay frozen than it is for the butter to be perfectly distributed. If you are doing this by hand, you’ll need to go at the butter/flour mixture with a pastry blender or two butter knives, cutting in the butter until it’s the size of small pebbles. Work quickly (and in a cool space if you can) you don’t want that butter to warm up.
  4. Working a tablespoon at a time, add in the ice water and pulse the food processor until combined. After each addition, grab a handful of the mixture and squeeze it together. When it stays together without crumbling (it usually takes about four tablespoons for me) you are done. If you are doing this by hand, follow the same method, except whisk vigorously between each tablespoon of water.
  5. Yay! Your pie crust dough is done. Woohoo! Now dump the crumbly meal onto a clean work surface and, using your hands, form into a solid lump, then into a disc. Work as quickly as possible because the heat in your hands will melt the butter (which, as we’ve established, is a no-no). The disc doesn’t have to be perfect.
  6. Wrap up the disc in plastic wrap and stash in the fridge. It’ll need to rest in there for about an hour before you roll it out. If you’re in a rush, you can stick it in the freezer for 15-20 minutes.

Apple fillings

  • 6 medium apples (I used granny smith apples)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg powder
  • 2 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  1. Peel the skins off the apples and slice apples into small bite-size pieces
  2. Add to the apples one cup dark brown sugar, two tablespoons all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/8 teaspoon salt.  Mix well.
  3. After mixing, your apple pie filling will look like this.  Cover the bowl tightly with plastic wrap and chill it in the refrigerator while you make your pie dough.

I baked my apple pies at 200 degree celsius for 50 minutes.

(My crust recipe was gathered from Back to Her Roots, Kitchen 101 How to make pie crust. http://backtoherroots.com/2012/10/04/kitchen-101-how-to-make-pie-crust/)
(My apple filling recipe was from Sugary Winzy, Apple Pie tutorial. http://sugarywinzy.com/apple-pie-tutorial/ )

There you go! My forth recipe for this Christmas series. I am getting this bittersweet feeling that I have one recipe left for this series. I wish that you would highly anticipate the final recipe for this Christmas series. And I hope that you have enjoyed my previous three recipes for this Christmas series. Till the next time, Ciao~

Leave a Reply

