My Christmas gift to you: #3 Cinnamon Wreath Bread roll!

Firstly I would like apologize for not blogging for a week as I was in Cambodia, therefore it made it rather difficult to blog. But anyway ever since I am back in Singapore, I have been baking for my third recipe for the Christmas series! And this time, it’s bread!

Whenever I think of Christmas, it’s the spices that always reminds me of this festive season! Did you notice that my previous Christmas recipes are spice related? You somehow could see my love for spice this season! So for today, we are using cinnamon!

Many of my friends dislike the smell and taste of cinnamon. Maybe that’s why I am different. ūüėÄ I love the aroma of cinnamon and the taste! I would drool buckets when I encounter a bakery which sells cinnamon buns! Unfortunately it is very tough to find a bakery in Singapore which sells cinnamon buns… Therefore, I baked my own!

I wanted something different and festive related. So I took advantage of Mr. Google and Pinterest. I found many recipe that have wreath bread roll. They consist mainly the savory types, which was not my ideal choice. Then I scrolled along and found this cinnamon wreath bread. It seems rather simple and less complicated. And so, I decided to bake that.

First and foremost, I prepared my dry active yeast first, because if things got wrong, I could do this step again. I poured 3 and a half teaspoon of yeast into lukewarm milk. It really has to be lukewarm as it might not activate the yeast if the milk is too hot or too cold. I let it sit for a few minutes and let the magic happens. It was such a fascinating sight, looking how the yeast bubbled and prove.

IMG_9286

 

Okay! Next, I mixed my dry ingredients with my wet. IMG_9288

Then, I kneaded. This is the tough process. I think I might have gotten a little muscles on my arm.

Note that the dough is not round and smooth, this shows that I still need lots of practice and I shall work hard and improve this bit.
Note that the dough is not round and smooth, this shows that I still need lots of practice and I shall work hard and improve this bit.

The ball of dough needs to be covered and rested in a warm area for about an hour. Then, after an hour, it was time to roll.

I placed a sheet of plastic cling film on my tabletop, it is to make it easier for my to knead and clean afterwards.
I placed a sheet of plastic cling film on my tabletop, it is to make it easier for my to knead and clean afterwards.

After the rolling, I spreaded soften butter on the dough. IMG_9292

The next few steps happened so quickly that I did not have time to capture the moments. The following steps are to sprinkle the sugar and cinnamon mixture onto the dough. Then roll it into a log. Then I cut the roll into 2, without cutting the top. Therefore you would get an attached dough with 2 tentacles. IMG_9295

After, I have cut the dough, I twisted each side and made a cris-cross interwinding them and then, brought 2 ends together to make a wreath! I heavily greased my baking tray before I place the wreath roll onto it. IMG_9296

Then pop it into the oven to do its thing! IMG_9303

The sweet taste of sugar and cinnamon filled my kitchen and yes, I started drooling!

And, before looking at the end product, I do have something to confess. I have baked the bread for a little too long, resulting some burnt bits on the bread. I was pretty upset and I will make sure I will never make such a mistake again. IMG_9304

So a note to all! Keep an eye on your bread constantly and do not let it burn…

Without further ado, Here’s the Cinnamon wreath bread roll recipe!

Ingredients

Dough

  • 2 cups¬†flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup¬†lukewarm milk
  • 1 envelope¬†active dry yeast¬†or¬†0.6 Oz
  • 1/8 cup¬†melted butter
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tbsp sugar

Filling:

  • 1/4 cup¬†softened butter
  • 4-5 tbsp sugar
  • 3 tsp¬†cinnamon

Method:

  1. Mix the yeast and sugar with the lukewarm milk and let it sit a few minutes while the yeast bubbles and foams up.
  2. Add the egg yolk, the melted butter, the flour and the salt, then knead the dough and shape into a ball.
  3. Place the dough in a large, greased bowl, then cover and place in a warm space and let rise until doubled in size (about 1 hour).
  4. Preheat oven to about 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Dust your work surface with flour, and roll the dough out to a thickness of 1cm.
  5. Spread the melted butter across all of the dough, then sprinkle the cinnamon and sugar mixture.
  6. Roll up the dough, and using a knife, cut the log in half length-wise.
  7. Twist the two halves together, keeping the open layers exposed as described in the photo tutorial. Give a round shape, then transfer to a baking tray (buttered or covered with cookie sheet).
  8. Top the remaining butter and sprinkle some sugar and cinnamon mixture. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until the top is golden brown.
  9. Reduce the oven temperature to 350 degrees Fahrenheit after 5-10 minutes to stop it burning. Top with icing sugar mixed with water if you want, just sprinkle some sugar, or eat it like this.
(I found this recipe through Pinterest, from a blog which includes many party ideas. http://ideas-am.blogspot.sg/2013/05/braided-cinnamon-wreath.html)

I realised that I need a lot of practice with bread making and I am certainly willing to give bread making more time and effort to craft out a simple, yet perfect bread.

I sincerely hope you have enjoyed this post, because even though I burnt part of my bread, I did enjoy my time while making this bread. There are 2 more recipes left to this Christmas series and I wish that you have enjoyed the previous ones and anticipate the last few. Till the next time, Ciao~

Leave a Reply

