My Christmas gift to you: Lemon-Rosemary Cookies!

On my previous post, “Hello November!”, I mentioned that I would be doing a series of Christmas recipes, however these recipes are based on my preference of taste and flavour for Christmas.

So I am very excited to be sharing my very first Christmas recipe with you and I do hope you enjoyed it as much as I do! So without further ado, my very first recipe to the Christmas series are Lemon-Rosemary cookies. IMG_8375

I associated this recipe to Christmas because of the herb. Rosemary. They are one of my favourite herb to use in cooking. And now, I am able to use them in my baking! And herbs remind me so much of Christmas, especially rosemary, cinnamon and nutmeg. Another reason why I chose this recipe is because it’s a cookie recipe. During this season, cookies such as gingerbread cookies are so popular. And I thought ‘why not do a cookie but not gingerbread flavoured…’ So without hesitation, I searched for cookies recipe and decided to use this one.

It is a fairly simple recipe and a kid-friendly one as well. The children could help you cut out the shapes of the cookies and you could bond with them at the same time.

The very basic rule to my bakings is that I lay out all the ingredients I need. IMG_8300

 

Next I would measure them. I left about 4 big tablespoon of extra flour aside in a bowl to dust my cookies later. Oh! And leave about 3 big teaspoon of extra sugar to coat the cookies before placing them into the oven.

I firstly cream the butter and sugar. As the recipe asked for melted butter, I believe if you have room temperature butter, it would do perfectly fine as well. As long as the butter is soft. I added my egg yolks,milk and lemon juice after the butter mixture was well mixed. Noted that it is fine if you want to add more lemon juice to make the cookies more lemony as the end product of my cookies did not have a very distinct lemon taste. IMG_8307 Secondly, I added my flour and minced rosemary into the mixture. I also believed you could add more rosemary if you would like to have a distinct rosemary flavour. They were fragrant and at that point of time, I started getting excited for this cookies. IMG_8309

After I added my flour and rosemary, I mixed them using a fork. You could use your hands if you prefer! Then I covered the dough after they have come together, and let it rest in the fridge. If you feel that the dough is still wet and soft, do not worry as the dough would harden after the rest in the refrigerator.

Up till this stage, the tabletop got a lot messier...
Up till this stage, the tabletop got a lot messier…

I then prepared my worktop to roll the dough when the dough is resting. And I took out my cookie cutter to get it ready to cut the dough into shapes. I bought the cookie cutter in Ikea. It is cute and cheap and the shapes are all in festive, so it attracted me.

They have a total of 4 shapes on the cutter. Therefore it is pretty versatile.
They have a total of 4 shapes on the cutter. Therefore it is pretty versatile.

When the dough is ready, I took it out and roll it flat for cutting.

I used a round bottle to roll out the dough because I simply could not find my rolling pin. A glass bottle works fine too!
I used a round bottle to roll out the dough because I simply could not find my rolling pin. A glass bottle works fine too!

IMG_8321

Then I brushed them with egg wash on the surface and sprinkle caster sugar before popping them into the oven. TADA! The end product!

IMG_8366

There were minor issues with this recipes as I did not expect the texture of the cookies to be like shortcrust pastry texture. It did not give a very pleasant mouth-feel however I did taste rosemary but not much of the lemon. It is highly possible I might have messed up a step, so therefore I would try again next time to improve this recipe.

Interested in the recipe? Read below!

Rosemary Lemon Cookies

Ingredients:

50g unsalted butter (melted)

70g granulated sugar

4 tsp lemon juice

1 egg yolk

2 tsp minced fresh rosemary

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

2 Tbsp milk

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C (350 F)
  2. In a mixing bowl, beat 50g melted butter and 70g of granulated sugar with a hand mixer or whisk until creamy.
  3. Add 4 tsp lemon juice, 1 egg yolk and 2 tbsp of milk into the butter mixture then beat again until well mixed.
  4. Add 2 tsp of minced rosemary and 1 ½ cup all-purpose flour, then mix together using hands or wooden spoon or fork, but eventually your hands, shape into a ball. Wrap the cookie dough and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  5. On lightly floured cloth-covered surface, roll each 1/8 inch thick. Cut with cookie cutter to your desired shapes.
  6. Slightly whisk egg white and brush onto cookie dough, then sprinkle sugar on top.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes until bottom is light brown.

IMG_8372

I found this recipe on a app called ‘Sweet Baking’.

I hope you have enjoyed this recipe because I had fun making them. Do look out for the next Christmas recipe coming out next week! Stay tune… Till the next time, Ciao~

 

 

Leave a Reply

