{Travel Adventures}-Bali.

So let me explain my absence from this blog for a few days. I went to Bali! Hence therefore, this would be a little reflection I did when I was on my way home, to Singapore.

It was such a bittersweet moment leaving Bali after 6 amazing days. As much as I wanted to stay in Bali for a longer period of time, I have to return home sooner or later. After such  long and stressful year, I finally got some rest. Literally, rest. 🙂 This trip was truly satisfying.

And there are various reasons why.

  1. Quality and Quantity time with the family. From the start of the year to about October this year, I have been busy preparing myself for my national examinations, therefore it does not leave much time to spend with my family. Thus this trip was a blessing as I got to spend 6 whole days with them. Which is 144 hours, 8640 minutes and 518400 seconds. Wow! That’s a long long time… Anyway, I bonded, laughed and enjoyed my trip with them.  IMG_8464
    Paddy field visiting...
    Paddy field visiting…
    Lunch area that oversee the luscious green paddy field.
    Lunch area that oversee the luscious green paddy field.

    We were at a tea and coffee tasting in Ubud (a little village in Bali).
    We were at a tea and coffee tasting in Ubud (a little village in Bali).
  2. For my mind, body and soul. No, I did not do any meditation nor did I stay in a temple. What I really meant was that I got a chance to fully take a break from the bustling lifestyle of Singapore and relax and enjoy whatever Bali has to offer me. I ate VERY VERY WELL. The food were amazing. I had both local and fusion styled cuisine and am very satisfied with either. I think I might have gained some weight as well. We had barbeque pork ribs, tuna steak, mee goreng (fried noodles, mee which is noodles and goreng is fry),  chicken, beef and pork satay (lots of them).  I slept very well. During my stay at the outskirts of Bali, I was woken up by the roosters daily, which I thought was surreal as I only thought such scene happens in movies and not real life.
    Took a picture of our first dinner in Bali. Unfortunately I did not capture any picture of our food. It was a fusion restaurant that served both local and western cuisines.
    Took a picture of our first dinner in Bali. Unfortunately I did not capture any picture of our food. It was a fusion restaurant that served both local and western cuisines.
    photo
    The table was filled with fresh local barbecue. We were stuffed after dinner.
    An Italian restaurant we dined at twice! Yes, it was that good that we had to go back. There are a wide selection of dishes, appetiser, pasta, main course and desert.
    An Italian restaurant we dined at twice! Yes, it was that good that we had to go back. There are a wide selection of dishes, appetiser, pasta, main course and desert.

    Our last meal in Bali in a fancy vintage cafe.
    Our last meal in Bali in a fancy vintage cafe.
  3. The people in Bali. The locals are very friendly and helpful people. They are so grounded and humble. They make their own handmade weavings for their traditional marriage and I do not see that often in Singapore and I was amazed that they are strong believer in their own tradition and heritage.
  4. Lastly, The Nature. Travelling to various parts of Bali allowed me to see many different things, such as massive lizards (MASSIVE), monkeys with cute little moustache, dolphins (wild ones, I was never lucky to see dolphins but I managed to spot a pod of wild beautiful dolphins) and hearing the gekko. We picked local produce such as strawberries as well.  So let me break it down for you.
  • Massive lizards. Our first in Bali was in the outskirts of Bali. My sister was in the bathroom, taking a bath. Out of the blue, she started to shout for my Mum. She was screaming that she saw a massive lizard, about 20 cm. When my Mum got to the bathroom, the lizard was gone. So my Mum thought my sister was just joking and no one believed her, not until she showed me. We were on the bed, using our cellphone and then she pointed out to me at the end of the curtain. There was this huge lizard plastered our the ceiling. My eyes widen and I finally believed her that she was indeed telling the truth.

    You will get goosebumps when you see it live.
    You will get goosebumps when you see it live. It may look small in the picture but it was huge.
  • Monkeys! There were loads of monkey along the road to our villa. Some had little moustache, some were playing with each other and some were just being lazy. They were friendly and not aggressive apparently. We were on our way back to our villa from strawberry picking, when we stopped to look at the wild thing. We decided to throw a strawberry and it is probably not a very good idea because we had to start feeding the others as well. Lucky for us, there are only 3 there. IMG_8496 IMG_8508 IMG_8511
  • Dolphins! I was anticipating to see dolphins the most. We had to wake up at 6AM to catch a boat ride to travel to the area where dolphins are located. When we arrived at the area, many boats were stationed there, awaiting to watch the arrival of dolphins. We did not wait long till we saw a pod of dolphins. We saw them flip and jumped and well, I was wearing the largest grin when I saw them. However something I was quite upset was that we the drivers notice a pod of dolphins, they would head to their directions. I think this action would cause stress to dolphins and might not do them good, therefore I was quite bothered by that.
    IMG_8436
    On the boat ride out to see the dolphins.

    IMG_8445 Unfortunately I did not capture any dolphins as they were up on the surface of water for only a few seconds.

  • The gekko… We do not have gekko here in Singapore. Gekko is a lizard that the Chinese use for medication purpose. They have a really unique sound, it is like pressing on a soft toy that squeaks. My sister was freaked when she heard it but I found it entertaining! 😀 And again, I do not have a picture of it as I just heard it, not seen it.
  • Strawberries! We needed an afternoon activity, because if we do not have an activity, we would just be lazing around the villa, doing absolutely nothing. The strawberries were so sweet and fresh and yummy. We picked 4 bags as there were four of us and distributed them to the villa staff as we could not consume all of them, as there were just too many. IMG_8523 IMG_8516 IMG_8488 IMG_8486

All in all, this trip was well-appreciated and amazing, it was really good. The food was good, people were nice and the place is heavenly (pun intended).

IMG_8484 IMG_8483 IMG_8450 IMG_8542

Leave a Reply

