Do you love oatmeal? Because I do!

Most of my friends do not really enjoy oatmeal. I think they associate it with ‘old-people’ food. However, they can call whatever names they want, because I enjoy every single bit of oatmeal. It’s coarse texture, rustic taste and creamy flavour are the reasons why I love oatmeal. Another thing I love is cookies! So why not corporate both ingredients into one! It is a win-win solution!

I got down to search for oatmeal cookies and I found it! It was not hard, Google assisted me. 😀 I was actually spoilt with choices, after looking through all the amazing recipes, I decided on soft oatmeal cookies. One that would go well with milk!

The ingredients required were almost what I had at home, so there is no need for grocery shopping.

This was a relatively easy recipe to follow. Basic steps such as creaming butter and sugar, adding eggs, one at a time, then vanilla and lastly, the dry ingredients.

IMG_6499

I spaced them apart because while the cookies are baking, they would spread and I do not want interlinked cookies. Baked them for 12-13 minutes, rotate the baking tray halfway through the baking time. And TA-DA! You have yourself a tea-break snack. These oatmeal cookies goes well with milk, tea or coffee. A perfect excuse for tea-break.

IMG_6501

As you can see, I ate mine with milk! Just like the good old days…

Without any further ado, here is the recipe for the oatmeal cookies!

Brown Sugar Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Salted Butter, Softened
  • 2 cups Packed Dark Brown Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1-1/2 cup All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 3 cups Old Fashioned Oats

Preparation Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350 F (175 C).

In the bowl of an electric mixer (or using a hand mixer) beat together the butter and brown sugar until fluffy. Beat in vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time, scraping the bowl after each one.

Mix together the flour, salt, and baking soda in a medium sized bowl. Add it into the creamed mixture in 2 to 3 batches, mixing it until just combined. Mix in the oats until just combined.

Use your preferred size cookie scoop (or a regular spoon) to drop portions of dough onto a lightly greased cookie sheet, spacing them a couple inches apart. Bake for 12-13 minutes or until dark and chewy. If you’d like a crispier cookie, just cook a little longer!

Let them cool slightly on the pan after removing from the oven, then transfer the cookies onto a plate for serving.

* Note: Add 1/2 cup finely chopped nuts to the flour mixture if you’d like a nutty flavor and crunch.

(This recipe is from The Pioneer Woman. I adore her recipes. Most of the recipes are homey and comforting. Cannot wait to try another recipe from The Pioneer Woman.  http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2013/08/brown-sugar-oatmeal-cookies/ )

I hope you have enjoyed the oatmeal cookie recipe and I cannot wait to start sharing Christmas recipes with you. It is my favourite season and I am eager to get my hands dirty with flour or ham! So, till the next time, Ciao~

Leave a Reply

