Healthy Healthy Coffee-Chocolate Marble Cake!

It would not be fair if I didn’t share my favourite recipe for my marble pound cake. I searched for this recipe because I was craving for some pound cake. So I searched. Then I found this recipe that I’m going to share below. It’s a healthier alternative as it uses yogurt rather than butter. As you know, marble cake is a creamed cake. It would use half fat (butter) to flour, therefore this recipe is a much healthier alternative, as it uses vegetable oil and yogurt for fats. It does have guilty and yummy marble but that would not do much harm, I guess! 

IMG_6387

So I start putting out my ingredients and started measuring the items. It was quite mundane and boring till… I had to separate my batters for the coffee and vanilla. I separated it then it’s time to pour the batters into the moulds. It’s up to you to pour the coffee at the bottom or on top. In my case I poured the vanilla as the base. I alternate the batters and thus, my coffee batter is on top.

IMG_6364
Chocolate batter on top, Vanilla batter at the bottom!

I popped it into the oven and let it do it’s magic.

When I was checking my cake, it was a little difficult to check if I’d burnt my cake as the layer I could see is brown. So a note to note is that if you want to check your cake easily, pour the vanilla batter last. I had a few cracks on the surface of the cake, but it was cooked perfectly and it was soft and moist inside. 

Oh! And I did not add chocolate into my cake. Instead I used purely coffee flavouring and essence for just the coffee flavour in my cake. It is up to you if you prefer chocolate or coffee, in my case, coffee! So to stop all the anticipation for the recipe, there you go! 

Healthified Coffee-Chocolate Marble Cake Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cup(s) flour, cake, sifted, or 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup(s) yogurt, fat-free plain
  • 1 1/4 cup(s) sugar, granulated
  • 1/2 cup(s) oil, canola, or vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup(s) egg substitute, fat free, thawed
  • 1/2 cup(s) buttermilk, low-fat
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup(s) cocoa powder, unsweetened
  • 2 tablespoon espresso, instant, or instant coffee crystals
  • 1/2 cup(s) water, boiling
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoon espresso, instant, or instant coffee crystals
  • 2 teaspoon sugar, powdered, and/or unsweetened cocoa powder
  • cooking spray

Recipe Tip:

92% les sat fat- 60% less sodium than the original recipe–see the comparison.

Preparation

1.  Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and lightly flour a 10-inch fluted tube pan; set aside. Set aside 1/2 cup of the cake flour or all-purpose flour. In a large bowl, combine the remaining 2 cups cake flour or 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour, the baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
2.  In another large bowl, whisk together yogurt, the 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar, the oil, egg product, buttermilk, and vanilla. Add yogurt mixture to flour mixture; beat with a wire whisk just until combined. In a medium bowl, combine cocoa powder and the 2 tablespoons espresso powder. Add half of the yogurt mixture (about 2 cups) to the cocoa mixture, stirring until smooth; set aside. Add the reserved 1/2 cup flour to the remaining yogurt mixture, whisking just until combined.
3.  Spoon half of the white batter evenly into the prepared pan. Carefully spoon half of the chocolate batter atop the white batter in pan in an even layer. Repeat layers with remaining batter.
4.  Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool in pan on a wire rack for 15 minutes. Remove cake from pan. Place cake on a wire rack set over a sheet of waxed paper. Using a long wooden skewer, poke cake in several places all the way through to the bottom.
5.  In a small bowl, combine the boiling water, the 1 tablespoon granulated sugar, and the 2 teaspoons espresso powder. Stir until sugar and espresso powder are dissolved.
6.  Slowly pour coffee mixture evenly over top of cake. Cool completely. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and/or cocoa powder.
Recipe with courtesy from :Everyday Health, http://www.everydayhealth.com/health-recipe/healthified-coffeechocolate-marble-cake-.aspx
IMG_6369

When the cake is still in the mould

The inside of the cake...
The inside of the cake…
A different perspective of the cake!
A different perspective of the cake!

And so this concludes today’s post! I do hope you have enjoyed reading and drooling over the cake that it makes you want to bake it! I did enjoy myself while making this marble cake and I cannot wait till the next time I bake it again! And something I really love about this cake is that is it so versatile. You can have it for tea-break, breakfast, as a birthday cake with icing poured over the cake. Many many different possibilities. So with that thank you for reading and till next time, Ciao!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Healthy Coffee-Chocolate Marble Cake!

Leave a Reply

