Racial Harmony Day, 2014.

IMG_5882

As a student in Singapore, I celebrate different kinds of festivals from different races and religion. Chinese New Year (traditional Chinese holiday), Hari Raya Puasa (A religious holiday celebrated by the muslims), Deepavali (A Hindu festival) and last but not least, Christmas. I’m a Chinese and I am made to bond and forge friends who are of different race and religion. And I believe such friendships are rather extraordinary. You do not get to learn to speak Malay if you do not linger around Malay friends, you would not be very familiar from where curry or spices are from if you do not get to know a Indian cook!

As for me, I can proudly say who I am today is hugely influenced with the different races and religion I encounter. I would not have found my love for Indian food if my parents are not friends with Indians. I would not have learn about  Ramadan* or a baju kurung* if I did not meet a good friend who is a muslim.

Therefore this brings me to the topic of this post, Racial Harmony Day. Our school , or I can say most schools in Singapore, celebrate Racial Harmony Day annually. It is whereby my school allows students to dress up in ethnic costumes for the day. And on the day of the celebration, everyone in school would be exquisitely dressed. It is a rather stunning sight.

And for me, it is sadly my last year to celebrate Racial Harmony Day as I am graduating. So my friends are I agreed to dress up!

RHD girls

 

Practically most of my classmates dressed up as well!

RHD Boys

 

I spent Racial Harmony Day 2014 quite simply. It was no fancy affair but an enjoyable one. From borrowing the ethnic costumes from my friend to exposing myself to different types of ethnic costumes I do not see much outside. Overall it was worthwhile.

There you have it! I truly hope you enjoyed this post and I shall see you next week!

*Ramadan- The ninth month of the Islamic calendar; Muslims worldwide observe this as a month of fasting. Fasting means to abstain from eating and drinking (including water) during daylight hours.

*Baju Kurung- A traditional Malay costume which loosely translated as “enclosed dress”.

Leave a Reply

