Seoul, The City of food for the soul…

Seoul, Korea. With a population more than 100 million. A place for shopaholic and K-Pop stars. Apart from all the fantastic cosmetic shopping and the dazzling K-Pop bands, food is the next attraction in Seoul.

I visited Seoul last December, 2013. I was very enthusiastic for the trip as I heard so much about their history of food. From aged kimchi to greasy street food, whom I was drooling about the entire trip. I recalled bugging my parents to take me to somewhere where I could devour cheap and amazing street food. Yet, they said ‘Good food comes if you were to wait.’ I sensed sarcasm in those words that came out of their mouth, however I still waited. Few days into the trip, I coincidentally bumped into a tiny store that sell a limited amount of street food, but I am not complaining.

Street store #1!
Street store #1!

I immediately browse through the selection of goodies and took out some won to exchange for some delicacy.

Greedy me...
Greedy me…

I ordered a stick of hotdog, covered in a batter with french fries. Then they deep fried it to give the fries a crispy texture and golden yellow colour. That was certainly a sinful start to my journey of food in Seoul.

The following days, I encountered more street vendors and indeed, ended up with a stuffed stomach filled with local foods.

Street store #2!
Street store #2!
Eating a stick of fishcakes with soup!
Eating a stick of fishcakes with soup!
Street store #3!
Street store #3! Apparently this street vendor is selling something associated with sausage…

And when in Korea, how could you miss out on grilled meat?!?! So for dinner one night, my family and I sat down at a little cozy family restaurant for some grilled meat!

Ladies of the family.
Ladies of the family.
Table filled with side dishes and grilled meat!
Table filled with side dishes and grilled meat!
Don't judge! I have a mouthful of food when my dad decided to 'capture' the moment...
Don’t judge! I have a mouthful of food when my dad decided to ‘capture’ the moment…

We ordered some other dishes like Kimchi soup, bimbimbap (hot-stone pot rice) and Jiajangmyun (Bean paste noodles).

Kimchi soup with mushrooms, cabbage, ramen noodles, spring onion, sausage and many more assorted ingredients!
Kimchi soup with mushrooms, cabbage, ramen noodles, spring onion, sausage and many more assorted ingredients!
Bean paste noodle which I have been dying to eat for the whole trip!
Bean paste noodle which I have been dying to eat for the whole trip!

We left the restaurant with a huge tummy and smile on our faces.

I was really satisfied that I got to see and taste the food that locals eat. I am looking forward for the next trip somewhere sometime with my family this year. I hope the food would be as good as it was in Seoul. For those who are visiting Seoul or planning to visit Seoul, do try their street vendors. You would be surprise by their appearance, smell and taste. Good luck & Have Fun!

And here's a family picture in Seoul!
And here’s a family picture in Seoul!
Leave a Reply

