A plate of goodness~

What is  your idea of a perfect breakfast? Mine is a plate with a stack of pancakes! Yes, pancakes! Pancakes sometimes bring the fanciness, goofiness and the kid in me. I have friends who do not share the same interest in me, however I do not stop myself from bringing them to establish pancakes shop. The smell of butter, the flop when you place that fluffy disk on your dish, it is like heaven for me. I have no idea how I became so obsessive over pancakes, but I am not complaining.

So when there is love for a certain dish, I would cook it! Therefore, one Saturday morning, I made my own pancakes! I did not went to search for recipes as the buttermilk carton I bought, has a pancake recipe at the back of it.

Recipe for my buttermilk pancake!
Recipe for my buttermilk pancake!

I left the orange rind out as I did not want citrus flavour or taste  in the pancake. And I did not incorporate the blueberries into the pancake but ate it alongside with the pancakes.   I did as instructed from the recipe and believe it or not, the pancakes turned out great! It was fluffy, soft and yummy! I ate it with blueberries and honey. If you have maple syrup, you could definitely use that too. And butter!

Final product!
My pride and glory! 
My half eaten pancakes..
My half eaten pancakes..

Tips for making pancakes!

  1. Always start your first pancake as a trial. You want to get the rhythm of pouring the batter and flipping the pancake. Then after the first pancake, you will be more comfortable doing the second.
  2. Do not add loads of butter when you are starting the next pancake. The pancake may tend to turn brown very easily as the butter might brown the sides of your pancake. Hence add little butter when doing the next.
  3. Be patient! Do not be too eager to flip your pancake, you might tear it as it has not fully cook yet.

Here is the recipe for buttermilk pancakes! From the back of the buttermilk carton!

Buttermilk pancakes

Ingredients

1 & ½ cups self-raising flour

2 tablespoons caster sugar

375ml buttermilk

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 tablespoon melted margarine (or butter)

1 cup of blueberries

Method

  1. Sift flour into a bowl
  2. Add sugar, buttermilk, egg and margarine. Beat with a wooden spoon until batter is smooth.
  3. Preheat a non-stick and place some butter onto frying pan over a medium heat.
  4. Spoon batter with a ladle. Cook pancakes one at a time.
  5. Cook pancakes for approximately 1-2 minutes or till bubbles appear in the un-cook batter.
  6. Then flip the pancake over and cook for about 1-2 minutes or till golden.
  7. Then, place on a plate and pour syrup or honey and DIG IN!

(If you could not find any buttermilk in the supermarket, you can make your own. Firstly measure 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar. Pour them both into a bowl or cup and stir. Set aside for about 5-10 minutes and use them when you need to! This substitute may not be as thick and creamy as the original buttermilk, however it worked fine.)

It is a very easy recipe to follow and do and I had an amazing time cooking the pancakes! For those who love pancakes, this a recipe you should try out! Good luck & Have fun.

Leave a Reply

