Where it all started…

When I first started baking, I knew nothing about baking. I had to dig out recipes and search for equipment on my own. The very basic munches in bakery are chocolate cupcakes. They are a classic to baking. So I picked up my reading glasses and started searching for classical chocolate cupcakes. I had little knowledge on baking, therefore I picked the easier recipe and the ingredients that could be found easily in supermarkets.

When I found the suitable recipe, I went ‘hunting’ for the ingredients. It wasn’t difficult as the ingredients are pretty simple and easily found. I got home and started on the cupcakes straight away. As I was inexperienced to baking, I did not lay out my ingredients and equipment first, leading to a messy working space. However, it did not bother my baking, but I made a mental note to always remember to place all the ingredients and equipment out before baking.

The dozen of chocolate cupcakes I baked came out rather well. There was a lovely crack on each cupcake, which made it look rustic and old-fashioned. It was moist and thick and chocolatey. However with my lack of organisation, I forgot to pour in milk into the cupcakes as it was hidden in the fridge and I have forgotten all about it.  Therefore this is again another reminder to always set your ingredients and equipments aside before baking.

So without further ado, here is the classic chocolate cupcakes recipe that I love.

Classic Chocolate Cupcakes.
Classic Chocolate Cupcakes.

Chocolate Cupcakes

Ingredients

1 & 1/3 cup all-purpose flour

¼ teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons baking powder

¾ cups unsweetened cocoa powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

3-tablespoon butter

1 & ½ cups white sugar

2 eggs

¾ teaspoon vanilla extract

1-cup milk

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 175C. Line muffin pan with paper or foil liner.
  2. Sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa powder and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large boil, cream together butter and sugar, till light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well. Then stir in vanilla.
  4. Add the flour mixture, alternately with the milk into the wet ingredients. Beat well. (I usually add 1/3 of milk with about 1/3-2/3 of flour into the wet ingredients and mix. Then repeat till milk and flour are all incorporated in the wet ingredients.)
  5. Fill the muffins cups ¾ full.
  6. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in preheated oven, or till skewer inserted comes out clean.

It was certainly my beginning to the world of flour, butter, sugar and messes! Baking have never been a chore to me after. My love of baking strengthen and grows and I never want to stop. To all those who have yet to find what they love, yearn or admire, don’t stop looking. You will find it someday, somehow, somewhere. Good Luck & Have Fun.

4 thoughts on “Where it all started…

Leave a Reply

