The Joy of Giving…

My parent always tells me that its better to give than to receive. And I absolutely agree with the phrase. The pleasure after giving always leave me beaming like a fool, every time, it never fails. So late last month I decided to bake 17 cupcakes for a beautiful and lovely friend of mine on her birthday. The thought of it excites me. The planning, the grocery shopping, the baking and finally, the giving. It wasn’t easy but it ain’t too difficult to do it all by myself. So I would like to share with you the project of giving.

Step 1: Planning.

I begun planning for the baking a week before I planned to give her the cupcakes.The amount of planning wasn’t massive but it needed detailed instructions, therefore I gotta be extra careful with whatever calculations I do. The calculations included the batches of cupcakes I’ll be doing and the amount of ingredients I needed.

Icing recipe that I rescaled to half.
Icing recipe that I rescaled to half.
Icing recipe calculated into half.
Icing recipe calculated into half.
Icing recipe calculated into half.
Cupcake recipe calculated into half.
The untidy ingredient list ..
The untidy ingredient list ..

Step 2: Grocery Shopping!

I believe this is my most anticipated part of the process! Well, it involves shopping and food! What’s there not to like??? With the ingredient list written out, all I gotta do is hunt down for the materials I needed. I’m pretty familiar with the items in the supermarket, so it didn’t take me too long to get what I required

Natural state of me!
Natural state of me in the supermarket!

Step 3: The baking!!!

So I baked a total of 3 different types of cupcake, red velvet, banana and lemon. I had the most enjoyable time baking the red velvet cupcakes. It made a huge mess in the kitchen and on me but it was such a pleasurable time baking those cupcakes! And the banana cupcakes were pretty interesting as well, the spices were so fragrant and the cupcakes turned out beautifully. The lemon cupcakes were the least messy, however it as fun.

A neat table-top to start the baking!
A neat table-top to start the baking!
The red-velvet batter that was so fun to make!
The red-velvet batter that was so fun to make!
Red-velvet Cupcakes!
Red-velvet Cupcakes!
Banana Cupcakes
Banana Cupcakes
Lemon Cupcakes!!
Lemon Cupcakes!!

Step 3.1: The frosting!!

I guess piping the frosting onto the cupcakes was great fun as well! Yes, it can get messy but sticky, messy and sweet! I did a total of only 2 type of frosting, lemon and chocolate frosting! Both turned out great, thank god! I feared the frosting would not hardened by the time I deliver the cupcakes to her.

Chocolate frosting on banana cupcake.
Chocolate frosting on banana cupcake.
Chocolate frosting on red-velvet.
Chocolate frosting on red-velvet.
Lemon frosting on lemon cupcake.
Lemon frosting on lemon cupcake.

I didn’t frost the cupcakes with some fancy pattern. I was going for a rustic and old-fashioned way.

All packed and ready to go!
All packed and ready to go!

Step 4: The giving.

I was so eager to deliver the cupcakes I baked for her. I was ecstatic. All I was thinking about was ‘Would she like the cupcakes’ , ‘Is it too crazy for giving 17 cupcakes’ , ‘How is she gonna finish all of them’ ! All those crazy thoughts were flowing around my mind! However I went ahead to deliver the cupcakes to the birthday girl.

Birthday girl!
Birthday girl!

All in all, it was an enjoyable process for this project. From the planning to the giving, it was a massive idea but I’m glad I made it possible! To the birthday girl, I hoped you enjoyed your 17 cupcakes and may you be 17 time sweeter and happier. Happy Belated Birthday my dear!

Making 17 cupcakes ain’t so tough, if you really want to make it happen you can. Believe in yourself and strive to do your greatest. Good Luck & Have Fun.

And since there were more cupcakes left, I decided to give my crazily obsessed with cupcakes friend!

IMG_2778

Yes, and for those red-velvet fans, I’ll be posting my red-velvet recipe in the next post, so stay tune~

2 thoughts on “The Joy of Giving…

  1. Awww thank u so.much 🙂 thank god my faces wasnt weird. Love the background. So gonna post it on insta. the cupcakes was awesome. Good feedbacks frm my mum friends n family. Its amazing.17 CUPCAKES! WOW! I LOVE IT;) THANK U ONCE AGAIN!! I love u!!

    P.S sorry for the late comment..hehehe

Leave a Reply

