A Mother’s Love.

This post is dedicated to my lovely Mum, who turned a year older today, 11th of March.

I didn’t prepare any fancy gift for her, so I guess this post is for her.

Happy Birthday, Mummy Tan.
Happy Birthday, Mummy Tan.

Every birthday needs a cake. I figured baking one myself would be a better gesture than buying one for her. So I picked up my whisk and baked her a cake. I had an image of how I wanted my cake to be. It was covered with fresh cream, with blueberries at the side of the cake and strawberries on top of the cake and in between the cake, there’s cream with strawberry. However, the cake didn’t go exactly to plan…

I started off with my usual butter cake as the base. While the cake was cooling, I whipped up some cream. I over-whipped the cream and it became watery milk and buttery-like stuff. I was quite upset.. So the only way is to get ready-made whipped cream.ย With the cream already made, I folded some strawberry pieces with the cream. Then cut the cake into half and spread the strawberry cream over, after that, covered with the other layer of cake.

Strawberry cream in between the cake.
Strawberry cream in between the cake.
The inside of the cake
The inside of the cake

After I covered the top cake layer, I spread the cream all over the cake, which didn’t go too well either as the cake was not completely cooled, hence the cream started melting a little while i did the decorations on top of the cake. When I approved of the decorations above, I quickly placed the cake back into the refrigerator.(Note: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE, let the cake cool for at least 2 hours as the cream might melt and make the cake soggy.)

Birthday cake for Mummy Tan
Birthday cake for Mummy Tan
Birthday cake for Mummy Tan
Birthday cake for Mummy Tan

I was really glad she loved the cake because it wasn’t how I wished it was, but I accepted the fact that the cream failed… It was great fun baking the birthday cake and I sure will bake for many more other occasion! For those out there who wants to bake for your love ones, fear not and just do it! With love and effort, I’m sure the cake will turn out great! Good luck & Have Fun!!

P.S. To the strong and brave woman I know, Happy Birthday. You’ve grown a year older and a year wiser now. And in a blink of an eye, you brought me up for 17 years now. Thank you for enduring my rather annoying attitude and for the many talks you have given me, be it when I’m down or in need. Thank You Mummy Tan, I appreciate all that you’ve done and be looking forward for more! HEHE!! Happy Birthday!! LOVE YOU!

4 thoughts on “A Mother’s Love.

Leave a Reply

